We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Trip...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Black Star Farms
Ranked #2 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Annual Trip...”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I always make at least 1-2 Trips a Year and stay with the folks at The Inn at Black Star Farms. The staff (Jill & Kelly) are always so great and when you arrive you feel you like are at a 2nd Home away from Home! From the fresh baked goods in the kitchen waiting for you to enjoy as well as the 5:30pm sipping hour meeting new friends/guest as well as tasting some great food perpared by the Kitchen Staff. And by the way; everyone in the Kitchen is just amazing...Street's is such a great Chief as well as Steph, I do not recal the other Chief's name...but he is also very talented!

Let's just say, if you are looking for a short or long weekend getaway around the Traverse City, MI area...You need to look at staying at least 1-3 nights at The Inn at Black Star Farms! We have been going for over 7 years straight now and enjoy it every time. The rooms are great, the food is amazing; the Wine is Outstanding and the Service is top notch! My hat goes off to the propriotor (Don) and his Staff...Outstanding job by everyone!

Rooms we have stayed in:
-Diadem: Our Favorite room to stay in, especailly in the winter time with the nice sitting area by the Fire Place. Then you wake up to the smell of Coffee and the amazing breakfest being prepared down in the kitchen...OMG!
-Polaris: Very nice and quite in the back with your own private Entrace and can park your car right by the door.
-Castor and Pollux: Very nice and a great room if you decide to go up and want to share a room with Friends. The room is split up so you can have two King Size beds or the one room will split the beds in to two Dbl Beds...Close the door and enjoy your own little private room. The fire place also adds to the room, giving it a nice warm home feeling...but with a touch of Class!

Dinner at the Inn:
-Wow...the Menu is always amazing and the fresh items provided, especially in May with the mushroom season you will not be disapointed! High recommend at least one dinner at the Inn and enjoy a nice quite evening with you and your significant other or also Friends/Guests. Never go wrong having dinner at the Inn!

Bottom line, I just cannot say enough about Black Star Farms...Great place to get away and just relax. You are minutes away from so many other great Wine locations as well as Resturants that are top rated from people across the Country. The Traverse City area is just an amazing location and staying at Black Star just adds to the visit!

Room Tip: If you are a late sleeper...look at Polaris or Castor and Pollux. You will not be woke up by the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
102
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
traverse city
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The rooms are serious. comparable to the waldorf astoria and drake in new york. the wines are exceptional and the extras are perfect. spend some time with the horses its very relaxing....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I visited the Inn at Black Star Farms in November, 2011 with 3 other couples for our annual wine tasting weekend. We usually stay at Chateau Chantal, which we love, but decided to try the Inn at BSF for a change. Our room, Diadem, was spacious and comfortable, and included a complimentary bottle of wine. The bed and linens were cozy. The only thing missing was a fridge in our room. They did have a community cooler, which we used to store our bloody mary mix and vitamin waters (requisites for veteran wine tasters). The breakfast each day included an egg dish made with some seasonal root vegetables. There was also yogurt, granola, bread and fruit. It was delicious, and a step above the breakfasts we've had at Chateau Chantal. A lounge is located on the first floor of the Inn where guests can go to hang out and have some wine, although the selection is very limited. The staff at the Inn were all very friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we had anything we needed. There is a restaurant on the property, "Hearth and Vine" that I've heard is wonderful, but it was closed while we were there. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and would stay there again. But I must admit we prefer Chateau Chantal for the views and location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on either side of the Inn. The rooms located in the center get more traffic/noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank almostforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very good placê. Beatiful confortable. We loved stayed there for the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Freedom, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I visited with a friend for a quick getaway. We stayed at three places and this was our first. It was by far the very best in every way. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and given a tour of the Inn. Our room was wonderful. Well appointed, luxury linens, gorgeous fire place, wine in the chiller for us and more. We also had dinner at the Inn. The chefs are very talented making every course an event. We will be both return with our husbands to enjoy the Inn again.

The wine tasting was also well done, with excellent wines and cheeses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The rooms were really nice - we stayed two nights and got to check out most of the rooms as some point and they are all amazing. The breakfast was 5 star - not only did it look amazing, but it tasted wonderful. The owner came to breakfast and talked about the winery and how it got started. Very friendly and you were made to feel like family. The grounds are beautiful as well. Great location if you want to go wine tasting in the area. We really enjoyed this wineries wines, but also enjoyed Gill's Pier and Shady Lane wines!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I love the Traverse City area so after we got engaged last summer we visited a handful of venues for our wedding and BSF stood out above the rest. We loved the setting and knew as soon as we saw it that it was where we wanted to get married. We had our ceremony and reception at BSF last weekend with 50+ guests. The staff (especially Kelly and Jill) was very welcoming and went out of their way to make our weekend extraordinary. Our guests are saying it was one of the best weddings they had ever been to. A beautiful place to get married!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
13.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
11.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Black Star Farms

Property: The Inn at Black Star Farms
Address: 10844 E Revold Rd, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate escape in the heart of Leelanau Peninsula Wine Country where you will feel comfortable, pampered, and renewed. Our distinctive Bed & Breakfast Inn nestled below a hillside of vineyards and overlooking barns and pastures, features ten luxurious guestrooms with an exceptional package of services and amenities. Our guestrooms are named for various stars in the Northern galaxy. Each has its own private bath, some have fireplaces or spa tubs. All guestrooms have WiFi and satellite TV. Your stay includes many complimentary amenities including afternoon refreshments, an evening wine reception, a full gourmet breakfast, a complimentary bottle of our wine, and enjoyment of our sauna, library, and recreational trails. You are invited to enjoy our wine-paired 6 course monthly Harvest Dinners or our own Hearth & Vine Cafe for locally sourced farmstead cuisine. Guests can inquire with the innkeeper to learn more and to make a reservation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Black Star Farms Hotel Suttons Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing