We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot”
Review of L. Mawby Vineyards

L. Mawby Vineyards
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Suttons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We planted our first vines in 1973 and established our vineyards in 1976. We exclusively produce sparkling wine using both the traditional method (bottle fermented) and cuve close (tank fermented) methods. L. Mawby wines are traditional method sparkling wines produced entirely from Leelanau Peninsula wine grapes. M.Lawrence wines are cuve close sparklers produced from Michigan and other wine grapes. Our tasting room is open to the public and our hours very depending on the season. May - Oct: Monday - Saturday, 12-6pm and Sunday, 12-5pm. Nov. - Apr: Wednesday - Sunday, 12-5pm.
west Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun spot”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visited several wineries during our stay in Leelanau County but this winery was especially fun. The staff was enthusiastic and made every visitor feel welcome. The wines are all sparkling and range from very sweet to very dry. We found a couple varieties exactly to our liking and I think most others would also.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunnywestMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    7
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best wine in leelanaw”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Let me start by saying I've been in wine sales for more than 20 years.these are world class sparkling wines.i was very surprised at the quality of the wines.
The atmosphere is very fun and lively.the staff is extremely fun and knowledgeable.bought a few bottles of the conservency.
I will be back!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Gotta Stop and Taste the Bubbly!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Friendly, great view, great tastes, and excellent appetizers. The view is high over the vineyards and orchards, and the wine is superb!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CSchaner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Are we in France?”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

That's how great this sparkling wine was. I went in expecting something tasty, but was blown away by how well structured and delicious everything was. A definite must with beautiful views, too!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic Great Sparkling Wines Dog Freiendly”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fantastic Great Sparkling Wines Dog Friendly. This is a great winery with some great sparkling wines. They give you three free samples and they you can buy flights with cheese and crackers very reasonable. Our favorite was called sex. They also allowed us to have our dogs with us on their lower patio and delivered the wine there. Extremely. I would say if you like sparkling wine this is a most stop. friendly staff

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JhShMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L. Mawby Vineyards also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to L. Mawby Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing