We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Great Sparkling Wines Dog Freiendly”
Review of L. Mawby Vineyards

L. Mawby Vineyards
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Suttons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We planted our first vines in 1973 and established our vineyards in 1976. We exclusively produce sparkling wine using both the traditional method (bottle fermented) and cuve close (tank fermented) methods. L. Mawby wines are traditional method sparkling wines produced entirely from Leelanau Peninsula wine grapes. M.Lawrence wines are cuve close sparklers produced from Michigan and other wine grapes. Our tasting room is open to the public and our hours very depending on the season. May - Oct: Monday - Saturday, 12-6pm and Sunday, 12-5pm. Nov. - Apr: Wednesday - Sunday, 12-5pm.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
199 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic Great Sparkling Wines Dog Freiendly”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fantastic Great Sparkling Wines Dog Friendly. This is a great winery with some great sparkling wines. They give you three free samples and they you can buy flights with cheese and crackers very reasonable. Our favorite was called sex. They also allowed us to have our dogs with us on their lower patio and delivered the wine there. Extremely. I would say if you like sparkling wine this is a most stop. friendly staff

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JhShMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a great visit. Wonderful Michigan sparklings!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is probably our favorite Michigan vineyard to visit. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable. The sparklings are consistently fantastic. A must for us when in TC.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrazyTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnridge
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Odd”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After having visited several in the area (Leelanau Penisula and Old Mission) we were not impressed. The staff was friendly, however when we walked in the door we were overwhelmed with the loud music. Certainly not your typical experience when you walk into a tasting room. They offered 2 free tastings which sent us awkwardly moving around the tasting room. You moved places for each tasting. Weird! Everything they offer is sparkling wine. Also, their signage is somewhat confusing. It only mentions one of the two names listed on the brochures thus making it somewhat difficult to find. We have no desire to visit this winery again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynnridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not your usual wine-tasting”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wally served us three of the most popular bubblies that Larry Mawby is known for. We added some hors d'oeuvres and more wine for a great time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful sparkling wines!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The employees were so nice and the wines were our favorites of all the wineries we visited. If you like sparkling wine, this is your place!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chandracap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L. Mawby Vineyards also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to L. Mawby Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing