We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad”
Review of Black Star Farms

Black Star Farms
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Suttons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our unique one-of-a-kind destination is located only 12 miles north of Traverse City, MI on the scenic Leelanau Peninsula. The gorgeous 160 acre estate features vineyards, a luxury Inn, award winning winery and tasting room, the seasonal Hearth & Vine Cafe, horses, farm animals, and hiking trails.
sgirlie
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Blackstar farms was the best winery I went to in the TC area last week. Loved their reds and the late harvest Riesling. The woman doing the pouring knew her stuff. So why only 3 stars? They charged for the tastings, which were so small it was actually hard to taste, and did not roll the tasting fee into the cost of the $25.00 bottle that I bought. Every winery I've ever been to does that, and I was disappointed that they didn't. It's just nickel and dimeing...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackstarfarms, Public Relations Manager at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello,

We appreciate your review and visit to our winery in the Traverse City area and are pleased to hear that you found wines you enjoyed. Our tasting fee includes a souvenir glass and 5 samples of wine. Samples are typically 1 oz each and are designed to provide a taste and not much more as we comply with responsible consumption. It is illegal to subtract the tasting fee from a purchase and we are therfore unable to provide this to our customers. We apologize for any confusion and understand that other wineries may act differently.

Regards,
Coryn Briggs
Director of Marketing at Black Star Farms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    34
    18
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheese at Black”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Seems all now charge for wine samples...if you have been here before, bring your glass and save some $...their Leelanau cheeses are to die for....get the mild and the aged...worth the money and the taste will stay with your cheese until you get home

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Billwho46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't forget the cheese”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great winery and beautiful setting and grounds. Worth the trip just to see it. The best part is the separate cheese business next to the winery......the cheese spread is to die for!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely winery with delicious wines”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Suttons Bay and loved the ambiance. The vineyards are so pretty! Tasting is $5 for 5 wines of your choice and you get a souvenir glass. My personal favorite was the Late Harvest Reisling (if you like sweeter wines). Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccdayohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venetia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery with large selection of good wines”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really enjoyed the wine tasting here and bought several bottles. Red House Red was my favorie but there were a lot of good wines to choose from . Staff was nice and knew their stuff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Star Farms also viewed

Leland, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing