We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, cozy, pleasant”
Review of The Guest House

The Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #6 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, cozy, pleasant”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Tom and Marilyn are so sweet and provide a great place to stay! Very close to downtown Sutton's Bay and 15 minutes from the historic fish town of Leeland. We loved our stay and found it quite peaceful. The beach was very low key and relaxing, within walking distance. The lake is breathtaking and perfect for a cool down. VI Grill was yummy for dinner too! Cute place, cute town.....suggest renting bikes or paddle boards! Great memories and looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UP of Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Clean and quiet. Charming owner. Breakfast is self serve but that worked ok for us. Will go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milburn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in the cottage with friends. Since it is a two bedroom, two bath cottage, we had plenty of room for the four of us, our baby, and two small dogs. The location is great because you can walk to the downtown shops and restaurants and the beach is right across the street. As for the interior of the cottage, it is a little tired and could use some updating. It was clean though, which is important! The kitchen had everything we needed and there was a grill on the patio. We are from Michigan, but live in AZ so we loved being up north and spending time on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelindb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Being from the Cincinnati area, it was a real treasure to visit the guest house in suttons bay. My wife and are pretty well traveled. Yet......we had never been to the michigan wine region. Let me tell you that we could not have picked a better place to visit. This b and b was located in the best position in suttons bay. We had a perfect view of the bay right from the back deck of the inn. The beach was only a few steps out the door. I am a boater. Let me tell you that there is a marina right next to the beach that is the most beautiful that I have been to. Forgive me. We just got back yesterday and I am almost in disbeliefe of how great this trip was. We thank Marylin (guest house owner) for that. Thanks Marylin! See you next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed only one night, but were very impressed by the quality of the accommodation. The en-suite room was home from home. There is also a shared lounge/kitchen area and an external sitting area from where you can see the lake. The kitchen is very well supplied, you won't go hungry for breakfast.

There is also an excellent restaurant a couple of doors down from the Guest House which we would strongly recommend (but I forget the name).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
6.0 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
77 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
190 reviews
14.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Red Lion Motor Lodge
Red Lion Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Suttons Bay
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 504 N St Joseph, P.O. Box 82, Suttons Bay, MI 49682
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing