We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fun apartment above store in GREAT little town”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
whittemor...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun apartment above store in GREAT little town”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is great, above a store and next to several other apartments in the awesome town of Sutton's Bay. The beds were comfortable, the space was very clean and well kept, and it was a cheerful stay. Our dog was also welcome, which always makes me so grateful for owners that don't think a dog will trash a house. And the owner was very kind and helpful, but not nosey. She just checked in as we had to make a move from one rental to this one because of some complications with our reservation (so make sure you are confirmed with your reservation), and she was lovely. Shower needed repairs, couldn't really get it to warm, either hot or cold, but they said they were working on getting a plumber. That also may be worth a query if you are heading there anytime soon. But, bottom line, we love it. And the town is the best.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Great to hear you enjoyed "The Loft" and this adorable village of Suttons Bay. Staying in the heart of the village is so fun glad you got to experience it with your dog. The move was unexpected but glad we had the cabin next door for you. The shower has been upgraded also. We welcome your return and thanks for booking with Connie from Leelanau Chalets!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheeeebs
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Slightly rustic and quaint - location is great if you want to be right downtown!”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Understand this review is only rated average based on other locations I have stayed in Sutton's Bay for a similar price. This is a little apartment upstairs of an art gallery right down town, right on the main street. It is an older unit that the owner has spruced up a bit, but still older furnishings, but clean and quaint.

The traffic noise was not too bad, but both bedrooms are right on the road. There is a large, portable floor air conditioning unit in one of the bedrooms, which helps keep the road noise down when the fan is running. Their is no TV in that bedroom. The second bedroom does not have air-conditioning, but a small room fan. It does have a TV. The bathroom is small, but adequate.

Main problem is the shower is very hard to turn on and off, and very hard to adjust the temperature - either too hot, or too cold. It is old and in need of repair/updating. The kitchen is well appointed. The sitting room has a couch and love seat, and an additional wall air unit that worked well, with a ceiling fan, and TV. Nice little deck for 4 outside the unit, overlooking the back and the parking area. Landry is outside the unit, around the corner. No housekeeping, but towels and sheets were provided.

Parking is tight, room for only three cars. The loft has its own parking spot, but again, be patient getting in and out of the lot. Excellent walking to everything, including the beach and marina, shops, restaurants, etc. If you are not expecting hotel or resort type furnishing, and don't mind something a bit more rustic, you will enjoy this unit.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJRTravel...
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Location”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Loft apartment is a perfect location for being able to walk to anything in the downtown area. Best part was the fabulous Little Bee Gelato shop downstairs of same building, run by Tony and Jennifer who are fabulous. Besides yummy flavors of gelato, they make the best hot or iced coffee ever!!!!
The apartment had what we needed for mid week stay. The WiFi was free but very very weak.
Martha's offered a tasty menu down the street one way and the other 9 Bean Rows featured farm to table yumminess, although the customer service was very poor.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaciepiac...
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
“The Loft - Suttons Bay - Perfect Romantic Getaway Spot”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I just finished our stay at the Loft in Suttons Bay Mi and we couldn't have found a more perfect place for us. It was a quaint apartment right downtown Suttons Bay, with several cafes and restaurants and bike shops around us. The beach was across the street and it was about a 15 minute drive down to Traverse City and about 10 minute up to Leland area. This place was clean and Connie with Leelanau Chalets was super helpful when booking, we even had to switch weekends last minute and since there was availability, she completed this no problem.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thanks so much for staying with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed the quaintness of the village and the convenience of staying in our vacation rentals located in the heart of Suttons Bay. Leelanau Chalets welcomes your return! Connie :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location in the heart of Suttons Bay”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our group came up to run the Vineyard to Bay 25k and this was the PERFECT place to stay - two blocks from bus pickup to the start and one block from the finish line back to the room (which worked out well since I left it all on the trail and barely staggered back for a shower!).

It's a quaint, kitschy layout with super-comfy couches and beds. There was plenty of space for four runners and their stinky gear :-) Enjoyed meeting some of the neighbors (and their pets!) plus it was nice to be able to stroll around the downtown shops and the beach without having to get in the car.

Hoping to be back for the run again next year and, if so, we're definitely coming back to The Loft. Thanks for a memorable weekend!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and couches/beds
Liked least: We couldn't find any washcloths - totally minor!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchilov
1 review
“A weeks stay at the loft”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very friendly enviroment, pet lovers paradise, beautiful beaches, art enthusiasts around. We stayed Sunday - Thursday, it was the perfect place to relax in the heart of Suttons bay.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie V
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment one minute from the beach”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is really nice--comfortable and clean with a fully-stocked kitchen. It's perfect for a couple, two couples, or a small family (one bedroom with a bed and the other with a futon).The apartment really is one block from the beach as the description says. The beach is absolutely gorgeous-- a white sandy beach with the clearest water I've seen anywhere in the U.S. There is a rental place for bikes, stand-up paddles and kayaks right next to it. The apartment is located in the middle of downtown with nice restaurants and cute little boutiques all around it.

I stayed there with my boyfriend for Labor Day weekend, and all I can say is that neither of us wanted to leave! We will definitely return if we get the chance.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
Glad to hear you had such a wonderful time at The Loft and enjoyed Suttons Bay.
This is just an adorable little apartment with all the comforts of home. Thank you for booking thru LeelanauChalets.com
We welcome your return! Connie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing