We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My low expectations were met”
Review of Travelodge Sturgis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Sturgis
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sturgis
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“My low expectations were met”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well I must saying going in I didn't have high expectations for this place and had planned to stay 2 nights. We ended up only staying 1 night and went elsewhere the next night.

Check in was a little odd as the guy seemed rather clueless. We had booked a 2 night stay and he only had one night listed. So he told me to just stay 2 nights and when I checked out that 2 nights would show up on my credit card instead of one. He also gave no information on anything as to where to find the room, where to park....nothing. The hotel is an old run down Comfort Inn as the phone in the room still had the name on it. Our room was old and dated. Paint missing off parts of the wall, a missing towel rack in the bathroom, mold around shower, etc. The area seemed OK but the back door to the place was open and you didn't need a room key to get into it so this made me feel leery that anybody walking past could just walk right on in. I've stayed in some questionable places and even this place seemed well below average.

With all that being said, the price was super cheap. Would I stay here again? No. If you are reading this review would I tell you to not stay here? No, I wouldn't. As long as you have low expectations I'm sure you could do a lot worse but just be aware of where you're staying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    34
    24
    19
See reviews for
39
33
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights, wifi worked great and as I was stuck her with no transportation Applebee's and Walmart were a short walk away. Not fancy but clean nice size quiet room. Breakfast was just basic but at half the price of many rooms nowadays a great value for the overall stay. if your used too fancy places this isn't it but for a clean basic room hard to beat.


Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and I was totally comfortable. The location was very convenient as well, it was right across from applebees and the walmart plaza. The check-in process was very easy, fast, convenient and the clerk was very friendly. The lady gave us good advice for places to eat. The room was VERY nice, compared to the price and the room looked very similar to how a Holiday Inn room would look. I was very content with my stay and would gladly recommend it to anyone else.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ashley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was a little apprehensive after reading some negative reviews but decided to give this place a shot.

I was pleasantly surprised by a large room which was clean and comfortable. No complaints there.

After I can back from grabbing some dinner it seemed the wifi was not working for a period of an hour or do which was frustrating but not a deal breaker.

BUT

When I came in for breakfast at 7:15, a full hour and fifteen minutes into the breakfast hours, not a thing was setup and ready. Had to wait 15 minutes for the waffle iron to heat up. None of the breads, bagels any knives or forks etc the excuse from the owner was that he slept in.....well shouldn't he be out there frantically getting it all ready??!!!!

It was a bad spot on and otherwise clean sheet.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evltek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago, and it was overall a great place. Everything was really clean and comfortable.the staff was really friendly and room was very clean. I will definitely come back to this hotel. The breakfast provided was also great!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Rooms and bathrooms were clean and fresh. No odors. Bed was comfortable and the matress was very good for sleeping on. Nicely appointed rooms with microwave and a clean refrigerator. Staff was excellent and friendly. For the rate it is very nice compared to others in the area which are less maintained. I will be making them my regular motel in Sturgis for my monthly visits

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The staff is extremely pleasant and accommodating. The room was serviced well, was clean and conveniently came with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, TV and hairdryer. You are greeted by a warm welcoming lobby, and the continental breakfast area is inviting and clean. Though the place has seen better days as evidenced by the closed, unusable and now overgrown pool area, it was still a pleasant stay especially for the price.

The location is conveniently located near the high way and to the Amish tourist attractions. It is located directly across the street from Applebee's and within walking distance of many other eating establishments. The neighborhood is mostly retail and light industrial with near by residential. It felt very safe.

I explored the entire establishment and would recommend that you ask for a room in the area nearest the lobby. Rooms 101-123 and 201-223 seemed best. When you get past these rooms you are in a different wing of the hotel and it is slightly more abused.

You may want to note that this hotel does allow pets and a barking dog did wake me up the first night I was there.

In summary, this hotel is a great value if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 101 to 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midwesttraveler003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
11.5 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Super 8 Three Rivers
Super 8 Three Rivers
#1 of 3 in Three Rivers
224 reviews
11.1 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
736 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sturgis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sturgis

Property: Travelodge Sturgis
Address: 1301 S Centerville Rd, Sturgis, MI 49091-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > St. Joseph County > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sturgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sturgis 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Sturgis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing