We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muweti Bush Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cajori Hotel(Phalaborwa)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$98
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$1,070
$807
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$675
$651
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$862
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$2,072
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
235
16
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented chaletsgame drivesgreat hostsself catering cottagethe reservepool deckat homeherd of elephantsyour doorstepnothing is too much troublehis wifeamazing experiencefew metersfell in loveincredible knowledgeperfect guidestayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 251 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As you can see from all the pics - great views of the bush from the camp and lovely accommodation.
We went on an early morning guided walk which was fun & interesting, back at the camp we chilled under the shaded area of the pool for most of the day and then went on an afternoon game drive which was great! On the walk we saw rock python, Giraffe and lots of interesting birds and insects. Back at the camp the Elephant arrived to have a drink at the nearby waterhole and on the game drive we saw a male Lion walking in the road, Giraffe, Kudu, waterbuck and lots of other bucks and birds.

All in all, it was a great vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are happy that you enjoyed the bush walk, it really is a special way to get close up and personal with nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As part of my South Africa experience I was so lucky to find this wonderful small lodge which offered a lovely setting, game drives and a very warm and friendly experience that I would highly recommend to any small group.

The owners Mike & Laura were exceptional in their hospitality, Mike's knowledge of the flora & fauna was outstanding and the food was awesome.

The accomodation was great and the setting of the lodge was an oasis of peace. My chalet had a small balcony which looked out on my own small waterhole. My stay here really was a highlight of my trip and I wished to have had more time there and I hope to get a chance for another return visit.

Kitty B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katje1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for all the wonderful photographs that you sent us, they are very special.

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Muweti Bush Lodge, with its spectacular horizon pool, is a great place to spend a summers day on the lowveld. When it is hot you would be well advised to go an early game drive, then spend the middle of the day flopping between the impressive wooden deck overlooking the bush (and the Drakensberg in the distance) and the refreshing pool. You may still see game while you are doing your lounging (we saw both elephant and buffalo from the comfort of the pool deck). As dusk approaches, Mike can take you on a game drive which often involves enjoying some "sundown" drinks overlooking the Olifants river. Then enjoy a pleasant dinner back at camp and some reflective time around the fire. Wake up and do it all again - what a pleasure!

The camp has Wifi so you can catch up on emails etc next to the pool (but only if you really need to!). The luxury tents are very impressive, with great finishings and a shower with a difference. No need to pack books - the camp has a well stocked shelf with readings to fit the bush environment.

Awesome.

Room Tip: Re kids activities - we never had any with us. Re fitness centre - not sure if that's what you're after in the bush...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hi Jarrydd,

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Muweti and hope your trip to South Africa was a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It may be a cliché but this really is a little piece of paradise nestled in the African bush.
We spent five wonderful nights at the bush lodge and it was exactly what we were looking for – a complete break. It was pure relaxation in wonderful surroundings being totally pampered by our fabulous hosts, Mike and Laura (who happily have refined the delicate balance between attending to your every need and respecting your privacy).
The tents are simply but beautifully decorated, promoting a feeling of luxury that’s at ease in the natural surroundings. Mike’s enthusiasm and knowledge is infectious. Laura’s cuisine is addictive. And the price is incredibly affordable.
If you’re looking for a bush getaway, you’ll be hard-pressed to beat the Muweti experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hi Jane,

We are so glad we got the balance between attending to your every need and respecting your privacy right as this aspect is important to those who choose to get away from the crowded establishments for a more personal experience. We intend to keep our lodge small so that this will always be the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Muweti with 3 teenagers and 2 younger kids, so we had the whole place to ourselves. Mike and Laura were wonderful hosts. They gave us complete privacy, but were always there when we needed them. Mike is truly an expert guide and is enthusiastic about the wilderness and conservation. Our daily rides with him taught us a lot about spotting the animals and understanding their behaviour. On our last day, Mike advised us to go to Kruger, where we had an amazing day (it's close enough for a day trip from Muweti). Had we gone there without learning from him for the few previous days, we probably would have missed half of what we saw.

The lodge is decorated beautifully but with restraint. The tents give you the feeling of being close to nature, and roughing it out, while, in reality you are being pampered and sleeping in very comfortable king size beds. The wi-fi was pretty reliable, as was the cell phone connection, although it would have been ideal if we could leave all those gadgets behind.

Since we keep kosher, we brought our own food to eat, and Laura made sure we had room in her fridge and freezer for our supplies as well as pots. She was very accommodating and helpful in every way. We also had a braai wood prepared every evening so every day finished off with a beautiful bonfire and a tasty meal.

Mike and Laura are truly unique people with varied interest and experiences way beyond their work at Muweti. When we stayed at their place, we were able to spend some time with them at the campsite, and we felt truly enriched by that.

Asia Blumenfeld

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

What a pleasure hosting you and your family, I hope that you felt at home and enjoyed your trip to our wonderful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews