We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muweti Bush Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Cajori Hotel(Phalaborwa)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$98
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$1,070
$807
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$675
$651
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$858
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$2,072
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
235
16
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented chaletsgame drivesgreat hostsself catering cottagethe reservepool deckat homeherd of elephantsyour doorstepnothing is too much troublehis wifeamazing experiencefew metersfell in loveincredible knowledgeperfect guidestayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 251 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Muweti with 3 teenagers and 2 younger kids, so we had the whole place to ourselves. Mike and Laura were wonderful hosts. They gave us complete privacy, but were always there when we needed them. Mike is truly an expert guide and is enthusiastic about the wilderness and conservation. Our daily rides with him taught us a lot about spotting the animals and understanding their behaviour. On our last day, Mike advised us to go to Kruger, where we had an amazing day (it's close enough for a day trip from Muweti). Had we gone there without learning from him for the few previous days, we probably would have missed half of what we saw.

The lodge is decorated beautifully but with restraint. The tents give you the feeling of being close to nature, and roughing it out, while, in reality you are being pampered and sleeping in very comfortable king size beds. The wi-fi was pretty reliable, as was the cell phone connection, although it would have been ideal if we could leave all those gadgets behind.

Since we keep kosher, we brought our own food to eat, and Laura made sure we had room in her fridge and freezer for our supplies as well as pots. She was very accommodating and helpful in every way. We also had a braai wood prepared every evening so every day finished off with a beautiful bonfire and a tasty meal.

Mike and Laura are truly unique people with varied interest and experiences way beyond their work at Muweti. When we stayed at their place, we were able to spend some time with them at the campsite, and we felt truly enriched by that.

Asia Blumenfeld

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

What a pleasure hosting you and your family, I hope that you felt at home and enjoyed your trip to our wonderful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took 6 guests to Muweti recently. It just so happened that the animals went into hiding on that particular day but as a safari guide, I totally sympathise with that. If you could control that, it would be called a zoo! Mike and Laura were marvellous hosts, old-style genteel folk who really reminded us that genuine hospitality comes with warm hearts and old-fashioned kindness. The lodge itself is lovely and nothing was too much hassle for them. Mike's knowledge of the bush is first-rate and he imparts that knowledge with a deep love of the bush. As a guide myself, I found myself listening to everything he said to help me broaden my own education. A gentle soul with a kind heart and a genuine desire to see conservation flourish. I would happily take guests back to Muweti, confident that they will be well looked after. What more can you ask for from a safari lodge?

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We look forward to your return, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting and meeting every one of your special guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wow, what a perfect weekend! Mike & Laura were such wonderful hosts. Went out of their way to make the weekend super special for my parents' 40th wedding anniversary. The lodge is small & intimate & the tented chalets are luxurious! Sundowners & breakfast on the river bed, what a unique experience! Thanks Mike & Laura!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRACEY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

With a week off while in South Africa, we decided to do a little exploring holiday, so very last minute, found Muweti through Google, phoned and booked, very lucky for us, they had availability.

We arrived about 4 hours later and where met by Mike (his wife was away during our stay), we where shown our room (luxury tented accommodation), well our huge smiles on our faces said it all, it was awesome. The bed was huge (and I can now say extremely comfortable), the balcony and views where delightful, and there was a shower with a view. It was perfect.

We had a little bit of time to freshen up, but Mike was keen to take us on our first drive (early evening) to see what we could see. Halfway we stopped by the river for sun-downers, it was bliss. The views where beautiful and the sounds where wonderful.

Mike is very informative, not only on the animals, but the birds and insects too including the dung!!! We booked in for all-inclusive, the food was brilliant (well done chef!). Muweti has a wonderful homely and relaxing feel. Mike was always there when you needed him and so helpful. The views are amazing.

The location is beautiful, looking out from the infinity pool was gorgeous, you have enough time in the day to relax and unwind, either lounging by the pool or listening and watching out for animals.

I would highly recommend staying here, our only disappointment was that we only stayed for 2 nights - we wished we had longer, but we will be back. Thanks again Mike, you couldn't have done anything more - just perfect in paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevFairbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

So glad you guys had a good time. It was super to share our piece of paradise with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've read all the other reviews and can't really add anything new except to say everything everyone has said is correct. Laura and Mike are great hosts, a great couple and great people. Their passion for the bush and their knowledge is second to none. They are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They made you feel part of the family and looked after us as well as we could have hoped. The food and drink were excellent too - especially trying some of the local fare for the first time!
The game drives were amazing taking in the environment and many animal sightings. There were plenty of other activities available that Laura and Mike were only too happy to organise. The 4 days we were there weren't enough so we hope to return again as soon as possible. It was an absolute pleasure being in the bush and being around Laura and Mike. They blend in seamlessly with their surroundings and due to their care and consideration the wildlife is in very safe hands. What an amazing place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi guys. Thanks for this wonderful review. We are extremely gratified that you have indicated that you would do this all again. And we are of course glad that you enjoyed your time here. You are welcome to visit us anytime and we hope that you will. Thanks for the photos you sent us. They are great. Since you left we have seen lion 3 times, but from our point of view it's not about a checklist, as you have stated.. But we are sorry that you never got to see them with us. But you can check a video clip on our facebook page if you wish. Take care and all the best. Regards from a hot Muweti, although we did get some rain last night and hopefully we may get more tonight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews