We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience, lovely setting and the most important, very warm and adorable hosts”
Review of Casart Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casart Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We've spent 7 days in the Casart Game Lodge three weeks ago and it was truly amazing.

Where do I begin !! First of all, the food is really good, Sonia is a wonderful cook and will surprise you every evening. I am really picky about my food and I've appreciated every single dish she prepared. For breakfast, there is a large choice: croissants, cereals, eggs,... My favourite were the French toasts ("wentelteefjes"), cooked to perfection by Jan!!

The rondavel in which we staid, was nicely decorated, more than clean, well equipped. It had a great veranda where you can sit or take a sunbath and watch the animals drinking at the water hole, a unique opportunity. There is also a big private jacuzzi where one can spend many hours relaxing...

We went on two game drives in the Grietjie Private Game Reserve and we were pleasantly surprised by the diversity of animals we saw. There were elephants, giraffes, hippos, wildebeests, velvet monkeys, zebra, impala, waterbuck, kudu,... There are also a lot of colorfull birds in the park. It was quite impressive!

Last but certainly not least, we really enjoyed the company and the kindness of the hosts/owners. Jan and Sonia are warm, kind people, they almost became like family to us. We felt like if we were "home" far away from home.
Words can not describe the cosy ambiance you feel while being at the Casart Game Lodge. Go there, you won't be disappointed!!! They do an amazing job in the South African bush.

PS: Jan en Sonia zijn schatten van mensen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank KimSips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 311 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very nice staf and exellent food. The room were also comfortable and teh beds were very good. The lodge is a little bit away from the big road and it is a "bush-road" . But it is no problems is you take it slow

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Irena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at the Casart Lodge and would highly recommend it!!

We booked the lodge based on the great reviews it got and we were not disappointed. In fact it was even better than we had anticipated.

Right from the moment we arrived the hosts Jan and Sonya made sure to welcome us and surprised us with a bottle of champagne on account of it being our honeymoon.

The accommodations were superb. Clean and tastefully decorated. We had our own private cottage complete with a kitchen (that we didn't need to use as we had great meals at the lodge) and a lovely area to sit outside. The lodge is a nice combination of a lovely and comfortable common area to sit and enjoy as well as your own private area by your cottage.

After a top notch breakfast in the lodge we would retire to our own cottage and sometimes wander down to the pool for a refreshing dip. Later we would then join the other guests in the dining room in the evening.

Sonya cooks a three course meal which differs every evening. Sonya is an excellent chef and has learned to make all the traditional South African dishes. Not only were they delicious and beautifully presented, Sonya would introduce each dish personally so you got to learn about them.

It's obvious that Jan and Sonya enjoy what they do and they do it very well. They are very friendly and make their guests experience a priority. Their staff were really nice too.

We also recommend taking the morning walking tour and the evening game drive.

Thank you Sonya and Jam for giving us some lovely memories of our first trip to South Africa. All being well it won't be our last

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golspie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place, perfect hosts, perfect food!
We were not looking for it but Sonjia and Jan strive towards perfection, offering their guests the most pleasant stay possible!
We stayed in one of the rondavels which gave us a lot of privacy and room to accommodate our needs. Very comfortable bed, all facilities for the bathroom present and a relaxing private jacuzzi!
Sonjia prepares dinners which are full of local flavours and are just superb!
Jan makes the breakfast of your choice which will give you the energy required for the day.
We also arranged for full body massage in the lodge and this was a plus much needed after 4 days driving around in Kruger.
Our last sunset game drive was done out of the lodge around the private park were it resides and it was fantastic!
Highly recommend although I would like to keep it all to myself!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ifigenia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Beautiful bush expeirence with all our needs looked after. Game drives were amazing. Food and drink plentiful. Rooms spacious and comfortable while the sounds of the bushbabies at night added to what was already perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We came already for the third time and again everything was perfect. Casart Game Lodge is an wonderful experience. The lodge is settled in middle of the bush, but still comfortable. The food is excellent with a perfect wine list and even Belgians beers !! Also the game drives done by Mike and Ian are recommending. After a stunning diner, you can have a dip in your own Jacuzzi staring at the thousands stars above Africa. Also the massages done by Monica are a well spoiled activity ,a must do !! What can you aspect more on your holiday !! Jan and Sonia, thank you so much again to make our stay as an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had another fantastic few days taking drives and walks for this small lodge. We have found elephants, buffalo. rhino, lots of giraffe and zebra as well as waterbuck and even some smaller things like Bushbabies and banded mongoose. The lioness and cubs still seem to avoid us but are in the area. The bush is always alive with new and exciting things to watch and now with the rain having arrived last night the birds and reptiles should start to appear more too.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank IanOwtram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grietjie Nature Reserve
6.7 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
295 reviews
22 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
24.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
242 reviews
10 mi away
Masodini Private Game Lodge
Masodini Private Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balule Nature Reserve
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casart Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casart Game Lodge

Address: Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22 | Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22, Grietjie Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Grietjie Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grietjie Nature Reserve
Price Range: $211 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casart Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casart Game Lodge is situated in a private nature resrve, Grietjie, who has a open connection with National Kruger park. Grietjie is big 5 area. U can stay in a rondavel with own Jacuzzi. The African - European kitchen will spoil you and the " real African" experience will wait for you during the game drive or Bush walk. We like to show you a warm Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Casart Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing