We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Summer Get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was enjoying some Pure Michigan time driving down highway 31 when we came across Grand Haven, near Lake Michigan. We didn't have a reservation but we were able to find a very nice, totally renovated hotel in Grand Haven Spring Lake area at the Holiday Inn. Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean and comfortable! Indoor and outdoor pool, Jack's Restaurant, food was excellent and we enjoyed some tropical music from the Two Guys in Flip Flops on the outdoor patio after dinner.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments! We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time spent with us. Our charming property is the perfect spot to sit and relax by the indoor and outdoor pools, and Tiki Bar while watching the boats sail by on the Grand River! Our weekly live entertainment in the summer is the perfect way to enjoy dinner at Jack’s Bistro and Bar. We truly hope you are able to visit us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

One of the few area hotels with an outdoor pool. The boat slips welcome tons of people partying and some great boats to look at. The outdoor Tiki Bar is fun, and the bar scene in general is pretty good. It's a busy place, not a lot of privacy. The balconies are very small and ours had no view. Not exactly conducive to having a glass of wine outside. The grounds are lovely. The staff was nice, especially Billy at the bar(s). Parking was ample even during weddings. All in all if you are looking for more of a full service, resort type place in the Grand Haven area, then this is your best option. You will probably drive to most places in GH though. Highly recommend renting or bringing bikes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool, and you may get a lake view. However, the pool side will be louder and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time spent with us. Our property is located on the Grand River offering a unique experience and amenities including our outdoor pool and Tiki Bar, and Jack’s Bistro. While we are located just minutes away from the Grand Haven area, the city has just repaved the local bike paths making the trip across the drawbridge safe and easy, and a perfect ride to enjoy the summer weather – great tip! We truly hope you are able to visit us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I just missed the city-wide water shut off when I arrived, but there was a note in my room apologizing and promising me water at the front desk. When I called down to the front desk, they apologized for not going to each room and removing that paper in the past half hour. Seriously, only half an hour since the water is on and they're concerned that they've inconvenienced me by not having it gone. That is the level of care they showed for their guests and property the entire time I was there.

The room was perfect--spotless. If updated fixtures and furnishings is important to you, this is the hotel for you. It looked as if it'd been updated in the past week. Beautiful.

There were several of us staying here (seven, I think) and I didn't hear a single complaint by anyone. Excellent experience in every way.

The only remotely negative experience would be that the elevators are TINY. Makes getting luggage carts and housekeeping carts in and out very difficult. I didn't use either, so it didn't affect me, but I did see families having trouble with the carts.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chautona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are so glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our charming property is located on the Grand River, breathtaking views of the water and on-site marina. Unfortunately we had a city-wide water main break leaving our hotel without water for a few hours. We wanted to make sure all of our guests were as comfortable as possible during the event, and worked with the city to get the water turned back on as quickly as possible. We strive to provide world class service at our hotel, and I am so glad to hear that you were treated as such.
I do apologize that you had a negative experience with our elevators. Though we completed our overall hotel renovations in 2011, unfortunately the size of the elevators reflect the age our hotel and we are currently researching smaller luggage carts so maneuvering is easier. We thank you again for sharing your comments with us. It is nice to know when our guests appreciate everything we do for them. We truly hope you are able to stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

From the moment we walked in the doors, it all went wrong from the desk staff with a major attitude to them not matching the confirmed hotel rate that we had with them. They increased the rate from our email confirmation $50 per night, refused to give us a room with a view that we requested. We were over looking the giant trash bins in the parking lot. Oh and they have sliding doors, but no screens allowing you to open them. When I was able to secure lodging for part of our stay elsewhere, I was quoted a rate of 259 with a room with a view for one night, following that I requested not to have to pay the cancellation fee since this was all their fault, and I was still staying one of the nights. But instead, the so called person who claims to run the hotel and report to no one named Jason refused, He not only, demanded a cancellation fee, but also said I was once again mis-quoted and the rate would be over $300. We all know when a business makes a mistake the mistake should fall on the business not the consumer. He was so rude, and in-competent that I am surprised they are still in business. With this lack of customer care, they won't last for long.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Stravel4,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We couldn't find a B&B with enough beds for the 4 of us so this hotel worked out very nice. It took us less than 10 minutes to get into Grand Haven. One thing we found very annoying was the elevator - it was way too small and took too long to get to our floor so we took the stairs most of the time. The rooms were fine, even though I'm not a fan of double beds and would have preferred queen beds. Our kids loved the pools, an indoor and an outdoor one right next to each other. We ate dinner on the outdoor patio and it was very good - nice to have the kids eat for free too. Had breakfast the next morning inside which was also very good. All around a nice place and would stay there again instead of a B&B right in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth42096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Beth,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments! We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time spent with us. Our award winning restaurant, Jack’s, is located on the Grand River providing a fantastic view to enjoy while having breakfast, lunch, or dinner, and our hotel guests can enjoy a free kids meal for kids under 12! Our indoor and outdoor pools are the perfect spot to relax during your vacation while watching the boats sail by. I will make sure I pass along your kind words to our employees! We truly hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Emily Moore, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I organized a group of 10 folks to stay at the hotel on August 9. We loved the property. It has a perfect location to enjoy all of the bike trails in Spring Lake/Grand Haven area. The rooms were clean and modern. The staff was friendly and courtesy. The restaurant serves up a great breakfast buffet. The hotel is directly across the street from Old Boys Brewhouse and down the road from Vander Mill (Hard Cider / Wine). Both places offer great food, beer/cider and outdoor seating. If you want a getaway weekend of biking and beer, than using this hotel as your base is the way to go!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj4pres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your bike and brew tour! Here in the great beer state, we take our local brews very seriously, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed Old Boys, and Vander Mill! We are also just minutes away from Odd Side Ales, in Grand Haven, and a short drive to the local breweries in Muskgon and Holland. Our award winning restaurant Jack’s is the perfect spot to have breakfast, lunch, or dinner during your stay. Thank you again for choosing our hotel as your base, and we hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Emily Moore, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel.

Pros
Location
Building
Very Clean - I did a very thorough inspection of the room
Lovely restaurant with a great view
Friendly staff

Cons
None

-Recommendation for the hotel management

Since Grand Haven is the "Blueberry Capital of the USA", the restaurant should consider serving local blueberries with its pancakes.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and will use this hotel for our future trips to Grand Haven.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank JohnKnoxTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate our valued guests and we’re happy that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our hospitality team and are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and restaurant. Great suggestion on the blueberries, we’re on it! We already have a partnership with a local blueberry company in town- Blueberry Haven, and use their fresh local blueberries for one of our vinaigrette salad dressings. We hope to hear you again sometime soon!

Warm Regards,
Vonni Loynd, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
2 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
496 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake

Address: 940 W Savidge, Spring Lake, MI 49456-1627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $102 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now featuring all smoke free hotel rooms and brand new bedding! Start your day on the banks of the Grand River. Relax and play in the sun at Lake Michigan beaches and spend an amazing night at the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn. Located just 2 miles from Lake Michigan beaches and directly on the Grand River, the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is your best choice in West Michigan. You ll find the things that are most important to you whether you're here for business or pleasure. Discover the convenience and refreshing experience of the only full service property in the Grand Haven area. Feel your troubles melt away as you relax in our indoor pool or heated outdoor pool. Play a round of 18 at nearby Grand Haven Golf Club. Slip away for a quiet dinner at our award winning restaurant Jack's. Enjoy our nightly happy hour in Jack s Lounge. Sip our signature Rum Runner as you watch the sunset at our outdoor Tiki Bar. Have your morning coffee while strolling along our docks. Traveling on business? Your business is our pleasure. When it's time to get connected, our complimentary WiFi access is waiting for you. Polish that presentation at our business center and we even have the right place for your professional meeting. The Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to the Grand Haven area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake
Holiday Inn Spring Lake
Spring Lake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing