We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed this past weekend and the hotel is very nice. Bathrooms are pretty basic, but nice granite countertops and very clean. The beds were comfortable, sheets were soft, flat screen tvs, and we did not have any of the complaints as the previous reviewer with squawking birds and wind coming in through the door, but maybe they were on the water side? We were on the road side and didn't even hear the cars. The indoor pool was nice and completely glass enclosed. It overlooked the river and gave you the feeling of being outside. The outdoor pool looks rough and looks like it's getting ready for some renovation. My only complaints are that there were pictures online that showed a game room with air hockey and various other game room activities, but when we got there the game room had recently been renovated and only had wii and xbox games, which you have to pay $10 an hour for the controllers. This was disappointing since the reason I picked this hotel was because it also had the game room for the kids and we were there for my son's birthday. Also, I felt the carpets could use a good scrubbing as there were a few stains. We didn't eat in the restaurant and didn't visit the bar there, so can't really comment on that. They have a tiki bar outside that looks like it would be really nice in the summer months. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. We walked on the boardwalk outside that goes under the bridge to a restaurant next door (literally a 5 minute walk) called Old Boy's Brewery. Definitely recommend eating there as they have awesome pizza and fun atmosphere (ok for kids even).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about your recent stay with us! I’m glad that you had the chance to enjoy our indoor pool as we were preparing for renovations on our outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is now completely renovated and looks great! We are very excited to have it open for the summer season along with our Tiki Bar and deck seating for the restaurant.

We recently renovated the Kids Zone with flat screen TV’s and an Xbox 360 / Nintendo Wii and I apologize that you saw some older pictures of our property online. We have been working diligently to make sure that all of the older photos have been removed.
We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Jessica Andrus
Revenue Manager / Guest Services Manager
Spring Lake Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 362 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Birds were squawking all night. Wind howls through sliding glass doors. Temperature control is bad in rooms. From freezing cold to hot. Room was clean though. Bed not as good as other holiday inn hotels. Worn out. Location was ok, river flooding worried me. Thought I was going to wake up and see my car floating away. It was safe. Staff was excellent and very personable. Loved the handwritten note left for me by the manager. Nice touch. Restaurant very nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scov70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Scov70,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you found the level of service you received from our staff highly commendable. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our service is superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret you found your stay less than satisfactory. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel was not a hotel with a lounge - it is a bar with a hotel. My wife and I travel almost every week all around the country on business and this is the worst experience I have encountered in some twenty years of travel. This hotel caters to locals in the bar and the hotel guests are an after thought and god help them if the locals don't want them there.

Bar Manager was standing in the lobby with an open beer. The General Managers position is if you don't like it - just leave. Maid services was after 3 pm. Grand Haven, MI is a beautiful town with fantastic restaurants, but this hotel is a local redneck hangout. It is all about the bar which is dominated by obnoxious locals. Visit Grand Haven and experience a wonderful community, but stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

James0660,

We apologize that you felt your stay was less than satisfactory.

We feel as though the situation that you experienced was handled to the best extent it could be. When it comes to guests that are under the influence of alcohol, we do our best to make decisions that ensures the safety of our customers and employees.

Our company policy states that no employee may drink while on the clock and it is strictly enforced. At the time that you saw the bar manager, he was cleaning up beer bottles left in the lobby by other customers as part of his nightly duties.

Our hotel is a welcoming community –accepting to all out of town guests as well as our local patrons and we most certainly strive to provide the best experience possible.


Best Regards,

Jessica Andrus
Revenue Manager / Guest Services Manager
Spring Lake Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed with our dog for the weekend. The location was awesome. The staff were great, this was the cheapest, nicest hotel that allowed dogs in the Grand Haven area. I left phone charger in the room. I emailed the hotel and didn't get a reply. I thought oh well its gone. 5 days later the charger is in my mailbox along with a $20 gift card for our next stay! I'm amazed! The restaurant was delicious too!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netters79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! I’m glad that we were able to accommodate you and your dog for the weekend—our staff strives to give excellent service and to go above and beyond the expectations of all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!!

Warm Regards,
Jessica Andrus
Revenue Manager / Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the WiFi is free. There were homemade cookies and hot chocolate upon arrival (not good for the diet, but YUMMY!). I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you're in town for a concert at Seven Steps Up (which I highly recommend as well).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! The homemade cookies and hot chocolate have been a huge hit to all of our guests and I’m glad you enjoyed them. We partner with quite a few local business such as Seven Steps Up so that our guests can have the opportunity to enjoy the different things that our area has to offer when staying at our hotel. We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Jessica Andrus
Revenue Manager / Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A couple of years ago my husband and I stayed in this hotel and were very displeased with the entire experience. However, I am happy to say that since its renovation and change of management, the hotel provided a completely different experience. Our room was lovely and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows leave something to be desired. Even though we had children staying across the hall from us, I noticed the room to be very quiet. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous, and the food in Jack's was a huge step up from the last time we were here. In fact, the entire bar is a huge step up from the last time we were here.

One issue though...check-out is 11 am. That was an awfully early check-out time. Normally check-out is noon, and even an hour more would have been helpful and appreciated. When enjoying the entertainment in the bar until into the wee hours of the morning, it would be nice to be able to sleep in just a bit longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebudmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

I’m happy to hear that your return stay with us was a great experience. We’ve undergone a lot of changes since our reservations and we are extremely pleased with the way that everything has turned out. Our staff works extra hard to make this a home away from home for everyone that stays here and I’m glad that you could see the positive changes we’ve made! We do offer a late checkout to our Priority Club Members—please let us know when you stay with us next and we will accommodate your needs.

Best Regards,
Jessica Andrus
Revenue Manager / Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a business traveler, I have endured many horrible nights at several overrated hotels. However, a few weeks ago, I had meetings on the west-side of MI and had 2 very satisfying experiences wth the Amway Grand in Grand Rapids, MI (which we all know) and the recently renovated Holiday Inn in Grand Haven. The new Holiday Inn has everything you would need, both for business and pleasure. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the view is spectacular. The lounge provides comedy and entertainment that was great!

It's a must if you' re on that side of the state and certainly within a business/pleasure budget, it's worth a try and I must say (a lot less expensive than the Amway Grand Hotel)

Room Tip: Any room is great. Pick one to look out at the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seo41996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! I’m glad to hear that as a business traveler that we met your needs and also provided the extra amenities so that you could have a chance to relax and enjoy your stay at our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Jessica Andrus
Revenue Manager / Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
2.0 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
492 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake

Address: 940 W Savidge, Spring Lake, MI 49456-1627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $97 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now featuring all smoke free hotel rooms and brand new bedding! Start your day on the banks of the Grand River. Relax and play in the sun at Lake Michigan beaches and spend an amazing night at the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn. Located just 2 miles from Lake Michigan beaches and directly on the Grand River, the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is your best choice in West Michigan. You ll find the things that are most important to you whether you're here for business or pleasure. Discover the convenience and refreshing experience of the only full service property in the Grand Haven area. Feel your troubles melt away as you relax in our indoor pool or heated outdoor pool. Play a round of 18 at nearby Grand Haven Golf Club. Slip away for a quiet dinner at our award winning restaurant Jack's. Enjoy our nightly happy hour in Jack s Lounge. Sip our signature Rum Runner as you watch the sunset at our outdoor Tiki Bar. Have your morning coffee while strolling along our docks. Traveling on business? Your business is our pleasure. When it's time to get connected, our complimentary WiFi access is waiting for you. Polish that presentation at our business center and we even have the right place for your professional meeting. The Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to the Grand Haven area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake
Holiday Inn Spring Lake
Spring Lake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing