We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Grand Haven)
$65
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beacon Inn(Grand Haven)(Great Value!)
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores(Muskegon)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belaire Motel(Muskegon)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
157
113
50
23
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
113
50
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolgrand havenroom was cleannice walkingonsite restaurantparking lotfirst floorlounge chairsview of the riverhotel restaurantmini vacationgrand riverfront desk staffbusiness centeroverlooking the waterhotel is greatnice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 367 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had my daughter's rehearsal dinner here because of the view and every place else was booked. We had people from out of state and out of country and wanted them to have a fried perch dinner. We tried the perch a few days before the dinner and it was not acceptable - very little fish and way too much breading. Even after talking to the chef, we didn't feel as though there would be any improvement so we switched to salmon. The night of the dinner the chicken was good as were the appetizers, but the salmon was very dried out and tough. Nobody could eat it. Luckily my daughter married into a wonderful and gracious family and we had fun together so the dinner wasn't a complete flop. But I would not recommend anyone using this hotel's dining facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Our Spring Lake Holiday Inn strives to exceed customer expectations. We take pride in our hotel and restaurant and are sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience. In regards to our very popular perch dinner- the breading amount is a little subjective and the liking is different for each person. We welcomed the suggestions of many customers and our current perch dish is a happy medium and continues to be one of our top sellers. We gladly accommodate guest requests if you wish to have more or less breading. As far as the Salmon goes, this is unacceptable and it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your dinner. There have been some recent changes in the kitchen and we are committed to constantly improving quality and consistency. We highly suggest that guests express any dissatisfaction while they are here so that we are given the opportunity to correct situations that would make their experiences enjoyable and memorable. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you choose to stay and dine with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

It's just ok for a holiday inn express. Deffinatly stayed in a lot nicer ones. The pools were nice. We enjoyed walking and riding on the path that runs by the hotel. The tiki bar is a nice touch. I probably would not stay here for more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoosier7189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your response. Just to clarify- our Holiday Inn is a full service hotel (not an Express)with a waterfront restaurant and recently renovated rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed the new bike path along our hotel and boardwalk. Our tiki bar is great fun in the summer time with music on the deck Wednesday through Sunday. We will keep you posted of our new restaurant, lounge and banquet room renovations scheduled for the end of October 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel has been recently renovated, is very clean, and is convenient to the Grand Haven area including many lakes and state parks. It has two large pools, one indoor and one outdoor as well as a hot tub near the outdoor pool. There is a restaurant on site (Jack's) which was o.k. The hotel is right next to a very nice walking/biking trail. Even with A/C, our room was a bit warm - they are currently renovating the A/C. The front desk said there were not any fans - ask Housekeeping; they provide them :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

It’s nice that you were able to enjoy the new bike trail along the hotel and boardwalk on the Grand River. It is convenient and offers a very scenic ride. We completed our A/C repairs and hope that you will make another trip to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you happen to get a room pool side you will see a great view of the river going up to Spring Lake and Grand Isle marina. They have a great patio for dining and a tiki bar pool side that is lots of fun. But try to get to a beach and enjoy Lake Michigan is difficult, it will cost you $8 to get in for the day. Then you will drive around the large parking lot many times to try to find a parking spot. The pool at the Hotel only has about 16 lounge chairs and there seems to be a group of people that dominate them every day from the condos next door. So unless you get out there by 7am to put your towel on a chair you will not have one. Will only go back if I have someone to see in that area.

Room Tip: The rooms over the pool have a great view but can ge noisy at night with the Tiki Bar and the kids in the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saatwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Grand Haven, the State Beach and iconic Lighthouse are beautiful and fascinating destinations but can be a bit busy during the summer season. Harbor Transit offers transportation to and from town, the beaches and our hotel for a nominal fee. You can leave your car and your worries in designated parking lots throughout town (or in our hotel lot) and use the transit to get where you’d like to go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn near Grand Haven that has a great location being on the water and surrounded by a marina. The rooms are standard and seem to have been updated sometime in the last few years. There are indoor and outdoor pools and a jacuzzi and the setting is pleasant. We arrived for a few days in July 2012 and were surprised at 9:30 on our first morning by the sound of jackhammers and drills. The hotel did not warn us at check in or at any time that they had some sort of 'emergency' repairs to make to the exhausting of the air conditioning units in each room. We asked how long it would take to repair and the front desk told us how sorry they were and that they had put on additional men to try to finish the repairs quickly. They said that the repairs would either be done the same or next day. However, the following day, we were still in our rooms at 10 a.m. and could not hear each other speak over the noise from the drills and it was clear this was no simple repair that would be over in one day. I called back to complain to the front desk and they offered us a discount on one of our nights. When I suggested that they could have handled notification to guests in a more professional manner, they were very apologetic and said that was a good idea. But I can't understand how hospitality professionals wouldn't have already figured out that a simple notification to guests could have gone a long way to making people feel better about basically having to leave their rooms by 9 a.m.? My sister's wedding party is staying at the same hotel this weekend and we called again to check on the progress of the repairs and now they say that it will take a month. Was I lied to? Overall very poor marks for management. And . . . they put gobs of butter on the toast at breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for poolside - otherwise you are looking at the parking lot and highway.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klindblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

We apologize that you experienced such noise during your stay. Unfortunately we did have an A/C emergency repair during one of the hottest summers on record! Our Front Desk staff always receives favorable reviews but during this repair time they unfortunately may not have relayed specific-or even general- time-frames as maintenance unexpectedly increased repair time as to thoroughly fix and complete the problem. You will receive correspondence from our General Manager- if you haven’t already. Our Air Conditioning system has been completely repaired. We hope that you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future so that you may enjoy a more pleasurable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews