We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True European-style Breads”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Baker

Village Baker
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Village Baker is a bakery/cafe that specializes in breads and pastries. Amazing sandwiches, fabulous coffee, gourmet milkshakes, and delicate teas can be enjoyed in our cozy boths or airy patio.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True European-style Breads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The breads are wonderful; true European style, with a good crisp crust but tender innards (not so easy to find on this side of the Atlantic)! The Antique French and French bread are favorites of our family. The Village Baker (Oran) makes the best bread we have had since returning to the U.S. in 2004 after four years stationed in Germany. Perhaps not surprising, because the oven is German. We also love the pretzels, scones, and cheesecakes (the cheesecake slices are large)!. The chocolate crinkle cookies are usually great, but vary somewhat depending on the baker. While some may find the prices higher than they wish, the quality is worth it and much cheaper than traveling to Europe! We buy bread(s) at least once every week. USAF veterans (retired).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    39
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I completely agree with C GH review. Spring lake needs a bakery, and while their scones and breads are 'decent'. Their dessert case looks good, but host some very dry desserts, after two duds I won't be back. They are not the Euorpean bakery they pretend to be. They need to put quality over quantity.
If you're looking for a good bakery: Laughtree Bakery (at the Muskegon and Sweetwater Farmers Market) offers true artisan breads and scones made with all local ingredients, freshmilled Michigan flour, and baked in a woodfired oven.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Annette626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitport, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Scones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The scones at Village Baker are the best! The pretzels are delicious! My 12 year-old son says that the pizza is the "best in the world!" You can't go wrong when you stop in to grab something to go or stay and enjoy a meal. Village Baker is a GREAT addition to Spring Lake!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, MI
1 review
“Perfect pleasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This wonderful artisan bakery offers some unique selections of breads and treats. The Polish Rye is our favorite but it's so hard to choose. If you are looking for Wonder Bread this is not the place. The breads are filling, hearty and a real treat. We have had meals there, too, and enjoyed our selections every time. The little patio out back is a great place to stop with the dog while you walk along the bike path. Always a bowl of water available. The Village Baker is a wonderful addition to our community. It just keeps getting better and better . . .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“About as original as the name”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wow, the people of Spring Lake must be desperate for a bakery. The bread is decent, but the rest of the selections are average. Too expensive for the quality of food. The bakery can be busy because they are the only one in town. If this bakery were in a competitive market it would be a different story.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank GH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Baker also viewed

 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Spring Lake, Ottawa County
 

Been to Village Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing