We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic Hungarian food!”

Hungarian Rhapsody Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Southgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Hungarian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Detroit, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“authentic Hungarian food!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good restaurant with authentic Hungarian food. Try the chicken paprikash. Wait staff is friendly and helpful




Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food great service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food is gourmet Hungarian, very good service, ample quantity. I have eaten here at least a dozen occasions, very consistent quality and servie. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vmlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our first time to this place, so I ordered a sampler platter which included cabbage roll, chicken paprikash, and breaded pork chops. The cabbage roll was excellent, the paprikash sauce the best I've had on some yummy dumpling/noodles (although the bone-in chicken breast on top was a little dry) but oh, the pork chop. And to be honest, it was the item I assumed would be dry. However, it was moist, delicious, and perfectly seasoned. I paid an upgrade to get sour cream cucumber salad instead of the tossed and it was great as well. We shared a variety of desserts and each was better than the last, all made in house. I will certainly find an excuse to go up to Southgate and eat here again! I need to try the veal paprikash, which is described as having the chunks of veal incorporated into the dish--more like what I was expecting with the chicken. But then I wouldn't be able to eat a pork chop...decisions, decisions. Finally, the service was great and the decor, which featured beautifully embroidered Hungarian tablecloths, was inviting. Prices were reasonable and there is a bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank emayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“It's all great food.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My favorite is the stuffed peppers. But, only on certain days. Get there early as they go fast. The service is top notch, even when it's busy. This is a gem, don't miss it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerthehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food Great”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was there for a luncheon - the choices on the buffet were excellent - only negative was instant mashed potatoes. Dumplings and stuffed cabbage were great. The seating was a little tight in the room that was reserved, but manageable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katlady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian Rhapsody Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hungarian Rhapsody Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing