We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE STAY WAS EXCLEENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the motel 6 in southagte mi the room was excellent yhe staff was great and the outside heated pool was great next time we are in town we will stay at the motel 6 in southgate mi.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam82475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

Honestly this place is horrible. There are two employees that actually do their job, while the rest are anti-social and don't do a [--] thing. They advertise free internet and cable but both of them always go out, and they don't fix it unless you do a good 3 days of complaining. Service stinks, there's bugs everywhere in the hotel and it's just overall a horrible place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoreCry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Pretty nice place overall. I did, however, have a couple complaints.

Starting with the good things:
-The staff was very friendly and efficient.
-The rooms were nicely appointed and had more amenities than other Motel 6's I have stayed in. I had a room with a King bed, and, I discovered after getting there, also had a large couch with a sofa-sleeper as well as an ironing board. It had all the amenities of a Comfort Inn or other more expensive hotel, but everything was a little more worn than it would be at a more expensive place.
-The bed was very comfortable.
-The room was very clean
-The pool was very nice, and very warm.

The only complaint I have is that my non-smoking room was located between two smoking rooms, and seems to have been a smoking room itself at one time. While I can tell it had been deodorized, some of the smell was still present. It wasn't as bad as some other hotels I've been in, and didn't bother me a whole lot, but, being a nonsmoking room I would have expected it to have no odor at all.

I'd probably go back because of how clean and comfortable it was, but I would try to get a different room that didn't smell of smoke.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JD262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Stayed at this hotel during the North American International Auto Show in January 2008. Arrived at the hotel at noon and was allowed to check in at that time (Most Motel 6's I have stayed at are pretty strict about checking in before "check in time" of 3pm)

Room was clean. Basic cable on the TV and unlike most Motel 6 locations I have been to it had in-room movies and video games.

This hotel used to be a Red Roof Inn (I could tell by the architecture) which was nice since although it isn't a newly constructed hotel it was nicer than the average 1970's era old Motel 6 locations.

I will be staying here again over Memorial Day weekend too. They earned a repeat customer!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I would recommand this hotel for the great services I recieved from the friendly staff. The beds were very comfortable and rooms included many amenities. The rooms were clean and smell great.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank florida617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glennie, MI
11
Reviewed April 26, 2006

This motel should be avoided at all costs. Our room was filty and had a bad smell. I complained to the manager and asked for a refund so we could leave, but she refused. Because I booked on the internet, they already had my credit card charged. Sleeping in your car is a better choice then this cesspool.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, Michigan
13
Reviewed July 6, 2005

poor customer service....dirty filthy motel....customer beware

Stayed: July 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#4 of 8 in Southgate
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate

Address: 18777 Northline Rd, I-75 at Northline Road/Allen Road, Exit #37, Southgate, MI 48195-2262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range: $48 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Southgate is near downtown Detroit and is a smoke-free location. Gibraltar Trade Center, Southland Mall, Cobo Hall and Greektown are nearby, making this location great to visit. Amenities include Jacuzzi Suites and Wi-Fi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Motel 6 Detroit-Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Southgate
Motel Six Southgate
Southgate Motel Six
Southgate Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing