We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets in Southgate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
TALLAHASSEE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Southgate”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

There are some bigger name unts in Southgate but this is as good or better than any. Only drawback is accessibility of main roads upon exiting the motel and an unimaginative, limited complimentary breakfast bar.

Room Tip: The mini-suites are worth the minimal extra cost over a standard room for the extra space they provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tallybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
103
56
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hotel needs renovation. We checked into our room, which was very spacious. We found a large box in the refrigerator, containing leftover food - presumable from the prior guests. We complained to the front desk, and they immediately removed the box and sanitized the refrigerator, and also gave us a $20 adjustment for the problem. Front desk person (Ivy) was very helpful and responsive. The refrigerator had not been defrosted in quite a while (see photo) - yet another example of a housekeeping issue. The AC system was broken and the AC ran constantly, even when we tried to turn the whole system off. The complimentary breakfast was sparse. The overall impression was of a struggling hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalton2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The motel staff is friendly, helpful, and go the extra mile to help and please their guests. I booked my room at this motel online and was sick worried about what this motel/room would look like when checking in. Fortunately, the room turned to be cleaner, neater, quieter and more comfortable than I expected. Also, the location of the motel is very convenient. Moreover, their served breakfast is fresh and delicious. The train noise was not an issue since my room was directly facing the parking lot. Their towels were thin and worn-out and I think they need to be replaced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saleh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed one night in two rooms. One room smelled strongly of moth balls. The other room smelled slightly of urine. Otherwise, the rooms were clean and fairly standard for a budget hotel. Beds are comfortable, it wasn't loud and service was friendly. For under $50 a night, it was just fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

3 nights over Easter weekend. Clean, safe, comfortable room in a great location. Continental Breakfast as advertised, don't expect a feast. Why anyone would complain about the train is beyond my comprehension. What a treat. Check out their discounts, my wife's employer is a partner and saved us some nice Tiger Baseball game spending money! Again, this hotel appears well run and what is lacking in ammenities is made up for in value.

Room Tip: Call the toll free to see if discount apply
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roomseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed here for two nights in one of their king sized bedrooms. The room was great for the price - I did notice that the free wifi they offer was a little slow, that was really my only issue. I could clearly hear the train go by since my room was on the back side if the hotel - I didn't mind it at all, but if you're a light sleeper be sure to request a room facing the front parking lot. The bed was really comfortable with a bunch of those really soft small pillows & I had two great nights of sleep :)

Their complimentary breakfast had a good selection that included make-your-own waffles, and a variety of things to choose from. And the staff here was very friendly. I'll probably stay there again the next time I'm in that area.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We got an excellent price on Hotwire for this hotel. Their rates are already low, so the hotwire price was a steal. Check in person was very friendly, and we were off to our room very quickly. We were staying for a night to go to a Detroit concert. We were in the room to change and sleep basically. As far as surface cleanliness it was very clean, no complaints at all. The carpets of the property in the rooms and hall either need deep cleaned or replaced. I didn't go without shoes, or at least not barefoot. The breakfast was your standard breakfast fare without the meat or warm eggs. Hard boiled eggs, waffles, bagels , toast, 2 cereals , apples, yogurt, juice, milk, coffee. The front desk person was the only one is charge of keeping things running smoothly in the breakfast area which would seem to be okay considering there aren't many people checking in, just checking out. My head was pounding in the morning, and it seemed loud. People didn't know how to operate the waffle maker and the clerk had to yell across the breakfast area. I would stay here again for a night , but never with kids unless for some reason unavoidable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southgate - Detroit Area
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Allen Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Property: La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Address: 12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate Hotel Southgate
La Quinta Southgate
Southgate La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing