We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay, great location in Southfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for a convention in Detroit. The facility was clean, quiet and convenient to restaurants and getting downtown to Ford Field, even with the road detours. Staff was pleasant and friendly, breakfast was busy, but well done, little waiting. Would stay again. rooms show some wear, though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We love hearing from our guests and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I see you noted that the property was a little dated, we understand and are very happy to say that the hotel will be going through a full renovation coming in the next few months. It's an exciting time at the hotel and the team is anxiously awaiting the details to share with our guests.

We look forward to your next visit while in Metro Detroit.

Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 883 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for three nights,Thursday through Sunday. Our room was very clean and spacious. Everything work! The free happy hour (5pm.-7pm) was a total surprise, yes they offer rock bottom liquors and domestic beer, with some cheese and crackers, but it was FREE people! You don't see that anywhere anymore. Breakfast was more than the usual fare, my only disappointment was that on Saturday and Sunday it didn't open until 7am. and we had to leave at 7 each morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitchumotsego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Good day and thank you for kind words and review. It's very gratifying to find our hard work is paid off and hear from our satisfied guests.
Our property thrives on training and customer service and to see it's paying off it awesome.

Thank you again,

Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel and had read several negative reviews before we got there so I was skeptical. I shouldn't have been! It was excellent. Our room was very clean and we loved the bed...very comfortable! It was very quiet too. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Every where we went in the hotel the staff greeted us, from housekeeping to the dining staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! And I understand they are having a major renovation soon. Am very impressed overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Michael,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you gave us a chance even after what you saw online. Unfortunately, we cannot control everything that goes onto the internet and when a guest has a challenge our team members are empowered to make it right prior to their departure.

Yes, our property is older, however we thrive on our customer service training to ensure guest satisfaction. We are very excited to say in regards to the property we will beginning a $7m renovation very soon.

Michael, again thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.

Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. great pool and lovely people. We loved the room, reception, breakfast and pool, Hot tub was bubbly but could have been warmer. Embassy Suites are awesome and Southfield Embassy Suites was up to par plus. Will stay again if in area

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank StarMom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Day,

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have our engineering department looking at the hot tub, we do our best to keep it at a suitable temperature and they will figure out what happened.

Should I be of any assistance during your next trip to our area, please feel free to contact me.

Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was on a weekend getaway leisure trip and the hotel staff offered us a quiet room away from a wedding party. I felt that gesture was very thoughtful and the room was very quiet. The ice machine on our floor was not functioning, but that was minor and we just went down a floor to get some. The staff was very courteous and the Breakfast was served hot and delicious with various items both cold and hot to choose from. I was very impressed! I would definitely stay at the Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team was able to accommodate your requests that ensured a terrific weekend.

I do apologize about the ice machine, our engineering department is on top of it.

We look forward to your return.

Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The front desk staff is probably one of the unfriendliest staffs I have dealt with when checking-in. When I arrived for check-in at 3:45pm, they had one person at the front desk. I was second in-line and it took about 5 minutes before the front desk agent was done with the first person. I did not get any kind of "we will be with you in a minute" or no apology for having to wait in-line. All I got was "are you checking-in." Check-in is at 3pm and after finally getting up to the desk to check-in at 3:50pm, I was told my room wasn't ready and it would be about 15 more minutes. I went back 20 minutes later and this time I was third in line. It took almost 15 minutes to make it to the front of the line to check-in. Again, no apology, nothing, just "are you checking-in." As far as the room itself, it is your typical Embassy Suites room. Breakfast was good. Nothing really right around the hotel for restaurants but within a few minutes driving, you have several choices. Checking-in is always one of your first impressions of a hotel and I was 100% not impressed and most likely will look at another hotel for my next trip to Detroit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsjustme47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry we let the ball drop. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

If you could please contact me directly, I'd like to follow up with this even further to investigate when you checked in so the specific agent can receive additional training to improve this service.

I can be reached at anytime gail.major2@hilton.com or 248.350.7007.

Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you,

Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A one night stay at this Embassy Suites was not like the usual property I expect. The lobby area looks like it was redone recently. Seems to happen often, I was not recognized as a Hilton Honors Diamond member, nor given any of my member benefits. My room was in poor shape, including a rug in the bedroom, that was covering a hole in the carpet. At least I couldn't see the hole unless I pulled up the rug. Another strange thing was there was only 1 trash can in the entire room and it was in the bedroom. Breakfast was decent and the staff was friendly. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WSG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Good day and thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. As we truly appreciate all of our guests HHonors Diamond members are the elite travelers. I want to sincerely apologize that you were not recognized for your loyalty to Hilton or that you did not receive any of your benefits.

I can assure you the property is going through a number of changes incuding a full renovation that will beginning later this summer.

If you could please reach out to me with your contact information I would like to investigate this further on exactly how your reservation was handled so we can utilize this for a training scenario and correct the challenge.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Gail Major
Director of Sales & Marketing
gail.major2@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
7.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Address: 28100 Franklin Rd, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: $112 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2016*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing