We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Akron, United States
1 review
“Business trip.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice hotel. Great people at front desk. They were very helpful. Excelleant complimentary breakfast. Pull out bed not very comfortable. Clean rooms. Bathroom very claem with plenty of towels. Location convient. Fitness room very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield. We appreciate any and all feedback to ensure that all of our guests receive exceptional service.

We look forward to your return.

Gail M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    175
    142
    178
    197
See reviews for
314
74
45
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fryeburg ME
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Embassy Suites Southfield, ME for a family function. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. However the hotel is in need of renovation. We had a corner room on the 9th floor. It had an extra window in the corner, however this window was so dirty that you could not see out of it. It admitted light, but that was it. The carpeting in the room was worn in places. We were surprised and delighted to have a stall shower, however the faucets and handles were loose. The shower door did not close properly.

Our biggest complaint was that our room was never made up. I arrived back at the hotel at 4:30, still no room service. I thought maybe they were delayed. Left the hotel at 6:00 and returned at 11:00 pm, still no housekeeping. I complained the next day. The front desk person did credit my account with 1000 Hilton Points, which was nice.

I will say that $100 for this room was a bargain ( AAA rate). However, it is not up to the Embassy Suites Standards we have come to expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with views to the North and East. These do not face I-696.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I do understand that there were some issues that you were disappointed while staying with us. I truly apologize if you found our hotel to be dated and need of renovations. I do thank you for bringing the issues you mentioned in your review to my attention. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I assure you that your comments will only help us improve our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again.

Best regards,

Gail M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper Canyon, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I normally will say that Embassy Suites are one of my faovrite hotels. But this one is so worn out, that it definitely takes away from the experiance. everything from the chairs in the breakfast area to eleveators and carpets, walls , shower/tub walls and so on are overly worn out and major need of attention or replacement. The one nive thing was the big man who cooks your breakfast is very nice and trys hard to please you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I do understand that there were some issues that you were disappointed while staying with us. I truly apologize if you found our hotel to be dated and need of renovations. I do thank you for bringing the issues you mentioned in your review to my attention. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I assure you that your comments will only help us improve our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again.

Best regards,

Gail M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I'm a business travelever from Boston, i used to stay at the Westin which is very nice also, but I really like having the complimentary breakfast. if you have breakfast at the Westin, the service is slow......... here you can do the buffet, and get in and out on your way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return.

Gail M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I were in Detroit because of a death in my family. We had previously stayed at the Embassy a couple of years ago while in Detroit and knew the high quality of the hotel; that was one thing we did not have to worry about during our stay. I would recommend to everyone to try out the Embassy Suites

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family stayed here one night. Upon checking in the hostess was not welcoming. She sent us to the 9th floor with our three small children. When we arrived to our room there were dirty dishes sitting right outside the door and the curtains were drawn. My husband opened the folder to get the key out and she had forgotten to give us keys to the room. So down he went. Again the hostess was rude when he mentioned we had no room keys. Once we entered the room it had an odor. The carpet was dirty to the point we left our shoes on until getting into bed. We did check for bed bugs at this point as the uncleanliness raised for awareness!! We did not find any as discribed in other reviews. The crib they brought for our daughter had dirty rails and the sheets were very loose and dated. The plug ins in the wall were very loose fitting to plug in a phone charger it just fell back out. This Embassy Suiets is not up to Embassy Suiets standards! We've stayed at other Embassy Suiets before and this one by far was not in good standings! On a positive side the rooms are spacious. With a deep cleaning and some updating these rooms would be great! The breakfast area was clean, spacious and a wide variety to choose from. We did notice some of the dining chairs were pealing and with summer approaching may not feel nice on legs wearing shorts! This also could snag your panty hose. It is close to the Detroit zoo and we enjoyed our day there very much!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We at take a great deal of pride in meeting our customer’s expectations and are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. Your input and concerns are appreciated.

Again, thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We value your business and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,

Gail M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was very surprised by my stay at this location. The service was great from check in to check out. My room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The restaurant food and service was top notch. Overall just a great value and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for recent review of the Embassy Suites Southfield. Guest feedback is the best way for us to learn and continue to exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to your next visit.

Gail M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#5 of 20 in Southfield
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Address: 28100 Franklin Rd, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2016*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing