We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Like other embassy suites, the room doors all open to a center courtyard. Not typically my favorite setup as there can be a lot of noise at night, but our room was quiet and spacious. The staff were friendly and accomodating throughout our 4 night stay. A large fountain in the lobby helped create a calm and welcoming environment.
A full breakfast and evening snacks were a very nice treat at this hotel. We really appreciated having a complementary beer or wine in the evening.
Negatives were minor, but there was some unexplained damp carpet outside our bathroom on the first night and bedding was missing from pull-out sofa. My daughter can usually sleep anywhere (camping on the ground), but she complained that the sleeper mattress hurt her back. She ended up getting a better sleep with just the cushions on the floor.
Overall highly recommend and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ih1dnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    169
    137
    160
    146
See reviews for
275
68
45
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business in March, 2013.

I tend to prefer the Hilton chain, and this was close to where I was working.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The carpet was looking a little worn and stained in places, but I emphasize a "little", and the rest of the suite was in good condition.

All the staff I encountered were friendly and professional.

The made-to-order breakfast did not disappoint, and adds to the value of this property.

The complimentary Wifi worked well from my room and the speed through to our VPN was consistent.

Lots of free parking too.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lone_palm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

First impressions are lasting and this by far has been the best hotel stay my family and I have experienced in this area and others. The breakfast choices and quality are phenomenal. The suite was beautiful and well maintained. The personnel was cordial, helpful and very attentive. The room service food had excellent presentation, quality, quantity and good temperature. I would gladly recommend staying at this location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overall I like this hotel I generally have a great experience and I love their breakfast in the morning as it has a great selection and quality to be continental. However, when the hotel hosts a large group as it was this stay I was there they lack control. So if traveling check to see if they have a large group because they do not monitor the situation well and your experience may not be comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel21j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. With this in mind I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our property.

I am very sorry that while we hosted a large group you did not receive the attention that you are accustomed to. Our main concern is for all our guests to receive the special treatment they are accustomed to and I am so sorry that we were not able to deliver this for you. Your feedback in very important to us and I can assure you that I will be taking your comments to improve our hotel.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and I do hope that you will consider staying with us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I love staying here. The rooms are large, the breakfast is great and I love the evening Manager's reception! The corner suite is the best. They have the best bacon cheeseburger. Everything i have ordered from room service has been the best quality.

Room Tip: Suggest not near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJA17171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My stay was good until I had security coming to my room more time then they should. They said that we were making to much noise, which I didn't understand because there were kids running through the halls playing laser tag. I can say the Breakfast was AWESOME, and the pool area is always nice. My room was okay too cosidering the sofa bed was broke. Besides that I would probably go back. My past stays were great, I don't know what happen this time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachanelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I truly appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention and I assure you that I have spoken to our security team regarding your comments so that this does not happen again. I am sorry that your rest was interrupted by our security staff and I assure you that this issue with not happen again.

Again, I apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you and hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice clean Embassy Suites Hotel. Rooms are spacious with plenty of room and 2 desks, a couch, and a king or 2 queen beds plus a wet bar with refrig and coffee maker. Good pressure in the shower. Recommend it for business trips or personal trips where you want your kids in the other room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC_FL_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Address: 28100 Franklin Rd, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2016*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing