We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Major Investment - And Bed Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Lacey, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs Major Investment - And Bed Bugs”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Staff good, but one of the most worn Hilton properties I've experienced. Worn, dirty carpets in room, service doors broken in elevators, dirty bedside stands and...

Bed Bugs. I stayed in room 512. Work up and killed one on my bedspread. It was full of blood. Took photos. What a mess.

Front desk was fine, offered to pay for dry cleaning/laundry. Comp'd room which is fine for my company but doesn't pay for the stress of not sleeping all night... not the PIA of going to the store to buy Ortho Bed Bug killer and spraying down all my luggage, etc.

Hilton can do better.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    175
    142
    178
    197
See reviews for
314
74
45
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenacres, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We travelled up to Michigan to visit family and to watch University of Michigan Football Game. The price was great, clean, spacious and it was nice that the beds were in a seperate room so the kids can go to sleep while we were able to stay in the living area and watch TV and talk. The breakfast was very nice and the cocktail hour was ok. The location of the hotel was very easy to get to and close to everything we needed to do.

Room Tip: I would look on the hotels website for deals plus check other sites before booking. I was able to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seano76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently travelled to Detroit area for a hockey tournament. Hotel was clean, rooms were large, breakfast was great. There was a free cocktail hour, parents liked that! Lots of parking and easy access to major highways. I thought the pricing was a little high, when you consider the Marriott was across the street for $89.99/night, our room with two queens was $129.00. The Marriott was not on the tournament website.

Downside - lots of teams were there, hotel didn't keep teams together, so that annoyed the other hotel guests, with all the running around. Elevators were old and slow. Seven of our 9 year old girls got stuck on elevator for 35 minutes. It's a glass elevator, so it wasn't a panic moment, as they talked on their cells with parents. Mainenance staff had already gone home, the staff that was there didn't know how to open the door, so a team parent broke it to get his daughter out.

Two great memories, we won the tournament and the seven girls have their elevator experience.

Room Tip: 9th floor is the top floor, not as many kids running past your door. All the rooms face towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob181734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The furnishings are a little older, but the hotel is clean and the staff are great!! The cooks did a great job on the cook to order breakfast. My only complaint was that there was no access into the hotel from the corner door so we had to walk around to the front int the cold, windy sleeting weather. They need a key card access on that door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSPBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello, and thank you for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay as well as our cook to order breakfast. The chefs do a great job on the Omelets. Im sorry that the key access was not working for you during your stay. We are currently working with the engineering department to make sure all doors and the key access are in working order. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, USA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Although the place may be older, they more than make up for that with the staff. They have a great attitude and gave me a nice welcome gift as a diamond member. The breakfast was great, as was the free cocktail hour the night before. The staff agreed to take me out within a 5 mile radius which was much better than most places. I think that this is a well run place and I would definitely go back If I am in Southfield again. Great job.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Djrrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Recently travelled here on business Oct 28 to Nov 2 2012. I had a king bed with a working room area with a wet bar. Lots of room to come back from a day at work and prepare for the next day. Well priced at government rate of $86 plus all the taxes ended up arounf $100 per night. Included in that was a hot cooked breakfast and a managers reception 5:30 - 7:30 PM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed four different times in October 2012. The breakfast is one of the better ones around. Good omelets, bacon, sausage, waffles, fruit, oatmeal, bages, etc. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are ok, with some, as others have noted, a bit tired and in need of renovation. Clean.
The rooms are a good size, with a front sitting room, back bedroom. Mini-fridge and coffee makers in room.

Free wireless internet. Although some of the rooms I was in had low connectivity.

The beds are quite comfortable to me. Some would consider them a bit on the soft side, which is what I prefer. I had room service several times. The filet is excellent. On another night I had the stir fry which was only okay.

Lots of business meeting activity here.

Overall, a good value. I kept returning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#5 of 20 in Southfield
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Address: 28100 Franklin Rd, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2016*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing