We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff make up for shortcomings of facility” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Ohio
Level Contributor
522 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Staff make up for shortcomings of facility”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012


I recently spent two nights while attending an event nearby. The location, to put it charitably, is confusing. With a GPS and much backtracking, we managed to arrive. Note, though, that the location makes going and coming from downtown Detroit a breeze - it's just the local surface roads that are a challenge. Check in was smooth and professional. The front desk person was more than helpful. The room was a little below basic: it seemed to be missing furniture and accessories, and the desk was backward. It was adequately clean, but there were smudges on the less-often-cleaned surfaces. Although the hotel was nowhere near full, our floor had no ice. In the morning, I found out there were no newspapers on the weekend either, for sale or otherwise. The breakfast selections were not up to the standards of the competition but the staff kept the room spotless and the chef cooking the eggs would brighten anyone's day. I may or may not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    167
    129
    152
    132
See reviews for
264
68
44
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Hotel is nice. Neat rooms. Staff at the front desk is not at all curtious. Pool is crowded during weekends

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Breakfast buffet style in the morning. Manager's special in the evening....free drinks and finger foods. The rooms are nice enough and separated into 2 areas with 2 LCD Tvs, Coffee maker (with real half and half servings), Fridge. The Wifi worked in the room. The shower was decent and the bed was comfortable. Staff was pleasant as well.

The gym area is quite tiny and some of the machine's displays didn't work. I didn't use the pool or the room service.

It is close to Tim Horton's and Dunkin Donuts without having to navigate those crazy double u turn lanes.

Overall its serviceable and good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmfuljays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verolengo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Last week i've been in this hotel for 5 days : suites are large , with 2 rooms , the bed is comfortable and there are 2 LCD TV. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was good. No wifi available in room (but sometime it works anyway) , LAN connection available and fast.

Breakfast typically American , you can eat how and whatever you want but don't look for a cappuccino if you're European like me , you won' find it!

Next time I'll come to Southfield I'll probably go there again : it' a good trade off not too expensive.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lupmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Pool was crowded, teenagers were horse playing to rough which made it un safe for small kids. Pool needs better supervision

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel is nice, clean, with friendly staff. The rooms are large and comfortable. There are two big screen TVs in each room, good coffee machine and a fridge. The real plus is their home cooked breakfast with plenty of choices, including fresh cooked omelets! They also offer free drinks and food at the end of the afternoon. Great value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panasushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The staff here at the Embassy Suites are really great. They are friendly and helpful at every turn. There is a nice gym for work out and a home cooked breakfast. The rooms are nice and recently have upgraded flat screen TVs. Lots of parking and a good selection of restaurants in the nearby area. I've stayed here a few times already and will stay again on my next visit later this month.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are larger and have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Address: 28100 Franklin Rd, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2016*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing