We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service counts !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed December 10, 2011

What a pleasant surprise. The embassy suites are off the main highway not too close to the center but, they made up for it with above standard service and a huge, fully-loaded suite that made my stay there very welcome and comfortable at under $100 a night including a well stocked bufe breakfast. The front dek checked me in swiftly and invited me for a cup of fresh coffee even though their restaurant was closed. Small but welcome gestures such as this make all the difference to me and, as a result, I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 887 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament. The rooms were very nice (suites) and the hotel is clean and staff do a great job. Breakfast was included and very good - they have an omelette bar which was a nice extra. The restaurant was supposed to be open for lunch and wasn't, but they opened the kitchen when we asked. The only complaint we had was that the elevators were slow during busy times, and the stairwell only takes you to a door on level 1 that is a staff only door, so stairs weren't really an option.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yearnin-2-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First of all, let me say, that I requested to be put in one of their newly renovated suites - and they were more than happy to do so. Glad I did, 9th floor, corner room and beautiful view. Hotel staff was very professional and courtesy. Breakfast was wonderful, all 5 days. Didn't get to attend the Manager's reception held nightly, was too busy sight seeing. The hotel recommendation for dinner was wonderful. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAna510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have stayed here dozens of times over the last five years. The people are very good, with most being great ambassadors of the hotel/brand. Have seen the before/after on the remodel job (nothing impressive). This hotel gets lots of church and other events/meetings, so dont be surprised if you are overrun by some group during your stay. And while the location is ok and plenty of food options nearby, one fundamental problem exists....it's so close ot I-696 that the noise can be unbearable. Take for instance when I woke at 4am this week to the traffic noise and grudgingly got out of bed to ask for a quieter room because I could not fall back asleep. I was provided another on the other side of the building, but was surprised that it was just as bad! When I requested certain room numbers due to location (fatherest from I-696), he was unable to give them to me, but not because they were full, because they were not cleaned (which is another fundamental problem in this challenging economic period). All said, I checked out after one bad night and moved to the Westin (expensive, but quiet). Thanks to the Embassy Suites Southfield for the years of service, but I will not be returning.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
Thank eliseivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Since we stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms, I wouldn't have the same complaints as some other people below concerning stained carpeting and old furniture. The suite we got was nice and spacious. Staff was attentive, in general. And this place has one of the best breakfasts! It can get pretty packed on weekends though, and then finding a table for breakfast can be quite challenging. And the pool! Oh, forget even thinking about using it in the summer, as it gets packed with screaming kids! But I wasn't particularly looking for some swimming time, so... Free parking is always good, but I wish we could get free wi-fi in the room, and not only in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has been renovated, and a higher floor to avoid the breakfast noise in...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alinemramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to the Detroit Area, expecting a really nice stay at Embassy Suites (in most cities, this chain is one of the best). The first thing that really grossed us out was the dead rat (about 5-6" long) that was laying in the parking lot not far from where we parked. We were there for three days, and the rat was still there when we checked out (eww!!!!).

The room had a lot of stains in the carpet and on the walls. It looked as though someone had let their kids write all over the sofa with markers, and then no one at the hotel bothered to try to clean it at all. The pool was not open when we took the kids down. My personal favorite was when we tried to cash a $50 travelers cheque at the front desk. They had us sign the check (standard, OK), then sign some registry book of people cashing checks, and then they had to go through a bunch of other red-tape/bureaucracy garbage and kept us waiting for almost 10 minutes. Finally, I just said, "can you just give us our $50 and you can figure out all of the paperwork later?"

The website claimed they had two washers and dryers, and when we got there, there was only one of each. The breakfast was absolutely the WORST of all Embassy Suites that we've ever been to.

We filled out and returned the survey as soon as we received it, and to this day we have not received any type of response from hotel management. Based on our impression of this hotel, I guess we shouldn't be surprised.

I can't believe that this hotel is still a part of the Embassy Suite chain, this is NOT up to their typical quality. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COST!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gizmo311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

First the positives - Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. The rooms were dirty, carpet and furniture stained. I am seriously thinking of changing from Hilton Honors to Westin Starwood Hotels Preferred Guest program. I used points for this stay and was not able to get a refund of my points - so I had to fulfill the stay. Never again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohio47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
7.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield

Address: 28100 Franklin Rd, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: $112 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2016*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing