We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“efficient-very clean-helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
west chester, United States
1 review
“efficient-very clean-helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great place for me to stay when i am doing business in Detroit. They have the amenities i need when i travel, it is almost as good as home. The work out facilities have all ones needs to get a quick excerise in, food and nice place to sit outside is cool too. Since i have been there more than 5 times this past year, they greet me as though they know me. Kudos Kim

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    119
    67
    29
    21
See reviews for
86
48
27
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

1.) I needed a handicapped room but they were all booked. I managed to take my shower without falling. 2.) Re: the Bathroom, the shower head could not be adjusted & made things very difficult every night! I reported it when I checked out. 3.) When I first arrived, there were hairs on the bathroom floor. I didn't report them, just threw them away. Housekeeping was much more thorough the next few days. 4.) Doors & walls were paper thin. Could hear even low conversations. And kids running through the hall & yelling to one another was very loud. There was also much noise from the room next to me. No voices. Just sounds like furniture being moved around & things being fixed, like pounding on the wall. Usually about 7 or 8 pm all 4 nights. Maybe there was some repairs or construction going on. Never asked. 5.) Even though I asked for help at the desk to connect my Smartphone to the WiFi, they never succeeded. Every time I came down to the computer room, it was full. My friend who brought her laptop had no problems. Will do the same next time. 6.) Refrigerator was barely cool. Asked for another one & it was pretty much the same. Tried to ask the maintenance man some questions, but he didn't speak English. 7.) Mattress lumpy & lower on one side. But my other 3 friends said they slept fantastic on comfortable mattresses. On a positive note.... The Staff were all delightful! Our driver, Mike C. was full of information & very helpful. The Greeter, Corey, welcomed us with a big smile & worked hard to make sure we knew where everything was & how to access things we needed. And it was nice to have someone who was not shy & seemed quite intelligent for his young age. We had several insightful conversations. Though I didn't use it, my friend said the Pool was great. They also took advantage of the Happy Hour & said their half-price pizza was delicious! Would have liked a few more options for our "free" breakfasts. Too many sweet things. Being a diabetic, I didn't partake of anything for the time I was there. But all in all, it was a pleasant stay. If you have some problems, they're happy to try & resolve them. I just didn't speak up on all the issues, as we were there for a convention & they had a hotel full of people who may have needed help more than I did. OH... And though it's not on their list of local restaurants, I wholeheartedly suggest a place called "The Ram's Horn" on 12 Mile Rd., about 5 min. from the hotel. Food was so good, we went 2 nights in a row! Friendly staff & great prices! Everything tastes homemade, with huge portions. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Oh, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good value, excellent service and comfortable amenities. However, it is too noisy on weekends due to unruly number of party guests attending weddings and youth events. I recommend a week day stay when these events are not taking place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ronald Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel was amazing. Clean, great staff...very sincere and accomodating. The room was extremely clean and the type of room that you love to stay in. The was very comfortable, great coffee selection (Kuerig), tv and internet was exceptional. I was here for 3 days at a business conference and I am a vegetarian. The food service staff was amazingly helpful in making sure that I had a great vegetarian meal. The asked me what did I want and I told them I love salads especially mexican style....They made me a special veg taco salad that was AWESOME!!! Great stay at the HILTON!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Staying in a business hotel on weekends can be a pleasure as rates are down. I spent a Friday-Saturday stay and the property was filled. Staff is very good, rooms are nice but could use some upgrading. The surrounding area is filled with businesses (great for walking my service animal) and it's necessary to get in the car to go to dinner - or eat on-site, which I did. I chose a "light" meal of a quesadilla that was so big it sated me for two evenings and the balance was left for the "less fortunate". This is my second stay here and I never did get to try the breakfast as my weekend work required an early departure. Would I stay here again? Maybe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I just spent two nights there. Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast. Average business hotel. There isn't anything to walk to so you have to eat in our drive. The elliptical machine in the fitness room needs major servicing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank G. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The staff is very professional and friendly. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Proximity to busy highway can be loud at times. The quality of food served during breakfast and dinner timeframe is of good value. The hotel offers complimentary internet access and free USA newspapers each morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#2 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Address: 26000 American Dr, Southfield, MI 48034-6170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the NEW Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Southfield hotel in Southfield, Michigan our guests will find everything they need, including deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The Hilton Garden Inn is located 12 miles from Downtown Detroit and 20.5 miles from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). We are only minutes away from major businesses such as; Blue Cross Blue Shield, Accenture Corporation, BASF, Charter One Bank, IBM, Lear Corporation, Daimler Chrysler, Denso North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Southfield
Hilton Garden Inn Southfield
Hilton Southfield
Southfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing