We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but eat elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but eat elsewhere”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel was what you would expect from a Garden Inn, clean comfortable rooms and bed (except the pillows) nice lobby and amenities. Dinner on the other hand was worth skipping. Our waiter while quite polite was either poorly trained or incompetent. A couple of us had burgers that were either overcooked and dry or under cooked in the middle and inedible. Bottom line, stay for the room, eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    149
    87
    36
    24
See reviews for
105
59
33
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armada, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The employees at this hotel are top-notch in every way. They all seem to like what they are doing and it shows. The breakfast is excellent and a nice addition to the value of the hotel. Will go back again when the chance arises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kathieluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was very impressed with the Lobby area. I love the decor and the quality of furnishing placed throughout this hotel. I found it to be upscale and very comfortable. This hotel is very nice and clean. I certainly would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
211 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I didn't sleep at the hotel because I live in the Detroit area. I arrived on one of the snowiest, coldest mornings of February and found the hotel had very carefully removed the snow AND laid carpets throughout the lobby so nobody ran a risk of slipping and falling. Tiffany @ front desk found a fax for me right away and directed me to Fisher I room. Mike in maintenance fixed a door issue w/o being asked. Mike Bennett, Chief Engineer, brought me my box and fixed the sign (w/o being asked). Everything about setup was PERFECT. Shebelle did banquet refresh and was cheerful and prompt. This is a great meeting location.

Room Tip: The meeting rooms are terrific and right off the lobby. I can't comment on the sleeping rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Over a long weekend full of cold, snowy weather, my husband & I stayed at this hotel. While our room was pleasant and comfortable, by far the most memorable part of our stay was sitting by a wonderful, blazing fireplace on the hotel's first floor. This fireplace is open on two sides. One side is open to the lobby, which has comfortable chairs in front of the fire and a wide stone hearth that welcomes one to sit on it. The other side of the fireplace is open to the bar. We spent a long time in the bar, sitting at a small table by the fire, with our stocking feet propped up on the warm, wide stone hearth. Outdoors, there was a blizzard, so because of the bad weather, we were the only customers in the bar. For a couple of hours, we sipped our drinks; read our books; and enjoyed the warm fire and quiet atmosphere. The next time we visit this area, especially if the weather is cold, we'll be sure yo stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SECh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I chose to stay here for business. One day the business was closed due to weather and found myself having to spend the entire day at the hotel. Other than missing the Weather Channel since they had Direct TV, I had a wonderful stay. The food was good. Excellent attention in the restaurant. Very attentive staff in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very attentive staff and almost fall over themselves helping make your stay enjoyable! Room was clean and comfy bed. Breakfast was excellent and bar had great server and drinks were delicious. Nice location right off 696 - and pool and workout area were clean and very well maintained. I would return to this hotel anytime I am in the Detroit area as it is worth the trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 20 in Southfield
279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Address: 26000 American Dr, Southfield, MI 48034-6170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the NEW Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Southfield hotel in Southfield, Michigan our guests will find everything they need, including deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The Hilton Garden Inn is located 12 miles from Downtown Detroit and 20.5 miles from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). We are only minutes away from major businesses such as; Blue Cross Blue Shield, Accenture Corporation, BASF, Charter One Bank, IBM, Lear Corporation, Daimler Chrysler, Denso North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Southfield
Hilton Garden Inn Southfield
Hilton Southfield
Southfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing