We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One good night; one not so good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One good night; one not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

After discovering my other choice of lodging for two nights had been the site of a drug/prostitution bust in the Detroit area, I switched to this Hilton property in Southfield. A nice property, it's a bit isolated but has a restaurant/bar on-site. The room was quite nice BUT the 2nd night, when returning from a very long work day, the key didn't work and it took 10 minutes to get a replacement. When I entered, I discovered housekeeping had rifled through my stuff (didn't take anything but still... ), replaced towels I wanted to re-use and forced me on a safari to find items I left deliberately in specific spots. Not sure I'd go back...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    138
    79
    33
    23
See reviews for
97
56
31
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very professional staff and close enough to Detroit to visit and have fun and far enough to be safe and not to worry about the ungly side of Detroit. The surrounding area is great for eating and shopping or even a nive round of golf.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Esley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicaog, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The service was excellent from the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out. The room was clean, the location is not far from the airport and the quality of sleep surpassed my expectation. The rates are also affordable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 2 nights in May. The hotel lobby and rooms are lovely, clean and welcoming. There are several stores nearby, including a Meijer, which is handy. The hotel was in the middle of a commerical park, so nothing really within walking distance. There was a lovely pool, but we avoided it as it was busy. The only negative experience we had was with our room keys. When we got up to our room just after checking in, they did not work. We went down to the desk and had them programmed again, and they worked. The next day, we left to do a few things, coming back around 5pm, and our keys failed to work again. Once again, the hotel reprogrammed them, but it was just a hassle.
We would definitely stay at this hotel if we needed to stay in Southfield again. It definitely does the job for a two night stay.

Room Tip: We were in the "low" numbers of the 2nd floor (201, 202, etc) which was right next to a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I took a group of High School Robotics students to Michigan for a World Championship and the hotel staff treated them as if they were fromm their home town. They cheered them on and asked how we did when we got back, and even helped to throw an impromptu party for them after the competition. Staff was excellent and the hotel was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here on business. The hotel's lobby and atmosphere is nice. Both times my room was nicely appointed, quiet and very clean. Since I was here on business, having free interent was important as I work late into the evening. I prefer plugging into the internet versus wireless; the hotel provided both options. Nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Robbin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

While the hotel is decent, the dining area is blank. My room was entered despite having the Do Not Disturb on the door and management response was less than enthusiastic. I would stay again, but I will certainly use a hidden camera to watch my stuff next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Address: 26000 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the NEW Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Southfield hotel in Southfield, Michigan our guests will find everything they need, including deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The Hilton Garden Inn is located 12 miles from Downtown Detroit and 20.5 miles from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). We are only minutes away from major businesses such as; Blue Cross Blue Shield, Accenture Corporation, BASF, Charter One Bank, IBM, Lear Corporation, Daimler Chrysler, Denso North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Southfield
Hilton Garden Inn Southfield
Hilton Southfield
Southfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing