We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Lacey, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the better Hilton property in the area. Was going through a refresh in November, so while 'in process', it was good to see things being spruced up. The hotel was therefore basically clean - where the refresh had passed. Hopefully the rest of the hotel will also improve. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I was able to relax in the room and not feel the need to go on a bedbug hunt.

The downside was the restaurant. The menu was old and even though it was being stated that there was a new cook, the food was bland and tasteless. About what one would expect from a mid-tier, business traveler in the midwest.

The team we had in town preferred this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with your entrée, I have brought your comment to our culinary team and we are actively reworking our offerings with your recommendations in mind. The next time you are in area we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Starting January 7th we are rolling out a brand new menu. Thank you once again for your comments.

Ken Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    156
    92
    36
    25
See reviews for
111
63
36
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stay for 2 nights this past weekend. This property is clean and updated. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. The adjustable bed (for firmness) was a big plus. If we are in the Detroit area again, no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is under renovation but the lobby and bar area are looking good. We didn't eat in the hotel but asked the bar and resto staff for plates and wine glasses (wine and cheese in the room) and they happily supplied

The hotel is very close to the highway and the highway sounds are audible in the morning. But since we were getting up to go shopping, didn't affect us too much.

With the renos complete, the hotel would be closer to 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This location was very nice and well taken care of. The front desk staff upon arrival were extremely helpful. The manager was present and seemed to jump right in and help and not just supervise. It is a busy location during the week as many business travelers stay at this location. The work out facilities and indoor pool are nice. Overall I found this location to live up to the Hilton brand and will gladly return if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Clean, spacious room and very comfortable bed. Complimentary breakfast was more than I anticipated; fresh omelet of choice and awesome side dishes served quickly. Front desk staffers were wonderful and stored my finally-delivered lost luggage safely until I was there to retrieve it. This was my second stay at this hotel and I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martharoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arriving early, my room was ready and no problems checking in. Room had a fridge, micro wave and coffee maker. Nicely decorated room, very comfortable. I did not notice any road noises as others had reported. Property looks well kept. Bar service was a little slow only because the poor bar tender had to race across the lobby to the restaurant area to order/pick-up food. He needed help. Included hot, by order, breakfast was well worth the extra $$. Nothing nearby so you have to drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pokher_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We came to this place after checking into (and then hastily checking right back out of) another hotel down the street. The stay was great, and that was with them having a run on the hotel because part of the county was suffering a loss of electricity and there was a bunch of folks checking in. So good in fact that for the rest of our stay we checked into another Hilton Garden Inn in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#5 of 20 in Southfield
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Address: 26000 American Dr, Southfield, MI 48034-6170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the NEW Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Southfield hotel in Southfield, Michigan our guests will find everything they need, including deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The Hilton Garden Inn is located 12 miles from Downtown Detroit and 20.5 miles from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). We are only minutes away from major businesses such as; Blue Cross Blue Shield, Accenture Corporation, BASF, Charter One Bank, IBM, Lear Corporation, Daimler Chrysler, Denso North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Southfield
Hilton Garden Inn Southfield
Hilton Southfield
Southfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing