We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for Business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Clean, spacious room and very comfortable bed. Complimentary breakfast was more than I anticipated; fresh omelet of choice and awesome side dishes served quickly. Front desk staffers were wonderful and stored my finally-delivered lost luggage safely until I was there to retrieve it. This was my second stay at this hotel and I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martharoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    140
    79
    33
    23
See reviews for
98
56
31
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arriving early, my room was ready and no problems checking in. Room had a fridge, micro wave and coffee maker. Nicely decorated room, very comfortable. I did not notice any road noises as others had reported. Property looks well kept. Bar service was a little slow only because the poor bar tender had to race across the lobby to the restaurant area to order/pick-up food. He needed help. Included hot, by order, breakfast was well worth the extra $$. Nothing nearby so you have to drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pokher_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We came to this place after checking into (and then hastily checking right back out of) another hotel down the street. The stay was great, and that was with them having a run on the hotel because part of the county was suffering a loss of electricity and there was a bunch of folks checking in. So good in fact that for the rest of our stay we checked into another Hilton Garden Inn in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pool was nice, rooms were nice and clean. Ate in the restaurant once, nothing special. Tried finding a place to run, there is nowhere, except cement side walks in an industrial area. Front Desk staff didn't know where the Ford Museum was located, nor any parks where I could take a run.

Room Tip: You can hear the highway from all rooms in the hotel (we had a few different ones)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

i've stayed here before, and my experience with the food is just terrible, the person who served me was okay, but the steak that I ordered was just nasty. I decided to give it another try since my work requires me to stay at a hilton and this is the one I stay in a lot. Suprisingly my ribeye was good and I asked if they changed chef's, it looks like theres a new one, and it was good. just the way i like it. clean, tasty and professional. it was always a hassle looking for a place to eat outside of the hotel, but it looks like i'll be staying!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Took a chance and stayed at this property as it was right across the street from where I had meetings. No frills property, rather plain and simple, but real clean the people were nice the room was fine and the AC worked well even at 98 degrees outside. Good pillows matress was really hard.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
397 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights while in Southfield for business. My room was at the end of the hall where the stairs/emergency exit was located. The door would slam shut and it was very loud. Also my room was by the interstate and when the A/C would go off-the traffic was loud. I usually ask for rooms not close to the elevator-in this hotel, I would recommend requesting a room away from the interstate.

Pros: Staff friendly and helpful. They were always ready to assist. Room large and needs met.
Cons: Left my room at 0730 came back at 445pm and my room had not been cleaned. Someone came around and asked if I would like new towels at 5pm. My room should have been cleaned in this time frame.

The location was convenient and easy to find.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Address: 26000 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the NEW Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Southfield hotel in Southfield, Michigan our guests will find everything they need, including deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The Hilton Garden Inn is located 12 miles from Downtown Detroit and 20.5 miles from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). We are only minutes away from major businesses such as; Blue Cross Blue Shield, Accenture Corporation, BASF, Charter One Bank, IBM, Lear Corporation, Daimler Chrysler, Denso North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Southfield
Hilton Garden Inn Southfield
Hilton Southfield
Southfield Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing