We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringWood Suites
Nearby Hotels
$98
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$99
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$104
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveler rating
46
82
110
140
429
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
82
110
140
429
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 807 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband and I returned to this hotel after a previous trip in August 2010 and were unsure whether we would be as satisfied as before. We need not have worried, it was marvellous. We were allocated the same room by request and were not disappointed. it was very clean and serviced every day..the maid even dishwashed our mugs! Breakfast was good, plentiful and hot and, although difficult for the poor lady who cooks all of it on her own on a couple of days due to a very large football tournament party who were also staying there and were obviously VERY hungry and a little tiresome with their behaviour, we had absolutely no complaints.
We have not yet managed to be there on time but most evenings there are drinks and snacks available free around 5pm and always free tea, coffe and hot chocolate available in reception which is very welcome on the cooler nights. Staff always have a smile on their face and are happy to chat and assist if required.If you are staying in Southfield, this is at the east end of the city and takes a few minutes to drive down Park central to get to downtown but is very near restaurants and a large Walmart so you wont want for anything and you will be sure to have a very cheap and happy stay we are sure.
Additionally there is a very nice outdoor pool, a customer launderette and pool side bar-b-que which is very handy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyLunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear SunnyLunda,
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass along to our staff your remarks. Also, thank you for noticing our breakfast attendant may seem overwhelmed but does an excellent job in keeping fresh, hot food available during the breakfast hours. We hope to see you at the evening social on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Aletha Dillinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I wish I had read these reviews...you really get what you pay for. We checked in uneventfully, but we were on the second floor and there is no help with luggage and no elevator. The door was hard to open. The room had dead bugs on the wall, stains on other walls and the next afternoon, we came back to find the bed made up, but all the towels gone. We called the front desk and they told us they were in the middle of laundering and would bring us some towels. We returned to our room at 10:00 at night to find there were no towels ever delivered. We called the front desk and they told us we'd have to come down to get them, as the housekeeping staff was gone for the night. So, I sent my husband out in the very cold weather. We also never got soap. We had several family members also staying there (it was Thanksgiving) and they had the same issue with towels. They ended up checking out a couple of days early and going to the Westin. I went to the front desk on the last day to find my cousin trying to get shampoo because they had taken his and not replaced it. No towels, no shampoo...WTF? There was also a horrible amount of noise in the middle of the night, like being at a bad fraternity party. My cousin also swears she saw a hooker outside. The workout machines--all 5 of them--were ALL broken. Ridiculous! This place is a dump! Do NOT go there!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

i am currently staying here,for the past week,we have had a daily problem,cleaning,towels , noise from building above our room at midnite,just general problems that i would not expect or wil accept,after paying 1500 dollors for one month stay,we finally tracked down the manager,who was apologetic,and gave us his personal phone no in case of further problems in the following three weeks,and i can assure we will use it if need be,the suites are in a good position,very unkept,and the housekeeping staff appear to be differant every day,this i dont understand,they do not appear to be able to work alone and do the job,i am sitting here writing this,and can see many problems...i wish them well,but had i read the reviews before booking,i would have changed my booking,it has potential,but it starts at the top,manager,front desk staff,and most important housekeeping....that 24/7 365 days of the year.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diannecaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Sorry to say this, but the Sisters at the front desk have no professional demeanor at all!! The rooms was equipped with an old sinking in the middle sofa with hair all over it. The closet rack has an accumulation of dirt that is baked on. There were no towels in the bathroom. To top it all off, the next morning the coffee pot had mold from a coffee filter that is still in there!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOVINGMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here because we were traveling with 3 children and wanted the extra space. Having a full kitchen, two bedrooms and two bathrooms was a deal too good to pass up. We had a lot more room than most other places in the area for not much more - and less than two rooms.

That said, I can see the drawbacks, most of which I see mentioned in other reviews. There was a total of one plate & one bowl in the kitchen, along with one pot. Plenty of silverware. The carpet felt like there wasn't any padding, and was looking pretty worn. Having two TVs was convenient, but with one upstairs in the loft and the other in the living room, they compete with other for noise. The downstairs bedroom has no TV, and they didn't have any way to connect a game system to help keep the younger one occupied.

One thing I've noticed for hotels in this price range in the Detroit area is that during the day the front desk staff are very friendly, but less so at night. The perception we got was they wanted to get you checked in and out of the way. We did not feel welcome by the night staff.

Overall what we got was a large room with plenty of places to sleep, clean beds, and two bathrooms, convenient location (we made a day trip to the zoo). It's in more of a residential section, but there are restaurants & shopping a mile or two away. Given the desire to have more room, it served its purpose just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayGuy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to offer feedback on your stay. I am happy we exceeded your expectations. One of the most rewarding aspects of my job is hearing great feedback from valued guests like you. Thank you again, and we look forward to being of service to you for all of your future stays in the area. Regards ,Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews