We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junk Hotel, Crumby Staff, Rude HSK”
Review of SpringWood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringWood Suites
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed December 20, 2009

The website says the hotel is newly renovated, and it wasn’t of quality that I thought it was going to be upon entering. The pictures show a flat screen TV. The pictures AND description say it provides a fire place. Neither of which we had. The TV was very old, and the fireplace was nonexistent. The closet door near the bathroom upon entering was broke and hanging off its hinges. We left it in that condition. My boyfriend was walking near the desk area to look out the window, and had a carpet staple go up the heel of his foot half a inch causing it to bleed. We notified the front desk upon leaving and she didn’t really seem to care or even show concern. She just ask where the staple was located at when he stepped on it. Didn’t even apologize. We showed up a half hour before breakfast ended, to find most of the food not even available. The bagels were stale and hard. The room did NOT come with a oversized work area, as it was pretty standard to any motel or hotel, and the “free” wifi didn’t work. My boyfriend went to the front desk to ask what the problem was, and the lady behind the desk didn’t even know how to help us. The housekeeping was disrespectful. It was obvious we were in there, we were the only car in that section and he was banging on our door a hour before checkout, and when my boyfriend answered he responded with “Your leaving today right?” I came to the door and replied, “We are leaving at checkout, and getting ready now” and he turned around and walked away. I was completely disgusted with this stay. The picture on the web page do not reflect the rooms, and we won’t be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 805 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2009

The suite concept is a good one - they are in a rather residential area, no walking to restaurants but it is just off the highway and close to Fairlane. The front desk was very helpful, the breakfast was amazing! The only thing if you wanted a non-down comforter or pillos, they didn't seem to have the knowledge of an alternative. We loved the kitchenette. It isn't 5star for sure but it was great value!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdntravelagent77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to offer feedback on your stay. I am happy we exceeded your expectations. One of the most rewarding aspects of my job is hearing great feedback from valued guests like you. Thank you again, and we look forward to being of service to you for all of your future stays in the area. Regards ,Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

This place is a bit of a gem. I got a suite for less than $60 a night. It even had a fireplace!

Comparable with one of the better extended stay brands you get a good sized room with a couch, kitchen and comfortable bed. They even had a breakfast included (with sufficient kosher items to make it worthwhile for this Orthodox Jewish traveler) which is unusual for extended stay type properties.

Front desk staff seemed a bit harried, but not unfriendly or unhelpful.

Location is quite and nicely landscaped.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_kosher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We had a medical emergency and the staff really worked very hard to steer us in the right direction. Staff reslly msde s difference.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooks54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We used to stay here when this was Residence Inn but we always had issues. This time around it was different. Rooms are cleaner and the staff attitude is lot different. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fosot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to offer feedback on your stay. I am happy we exceeded your expectations. One of the most rewarding aspects of my job is hearing great feedback from valued guests like you. Thank you again, and we look forward to being of service to you for all of your future stays in the area. Regards ,Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Where do I begin? 1. I arrived here for a convention with my church. We got to the hotel before check-in and processed preliminary paperwork thinking that once we got back at 3 to check-in we would receive our keys and be able to proceed to our rooms. When we returned to the hotel after 3 PM we still had to wait. The manager was the only person checking in rooms while the other front desk staff looked on and answered questions. My pastor waited over an hour to be checked in to his room. 2. The hotel advertised that it was newly renovated, however if painted over walls and poorly painted over cabinets is what you call renovated, hmmm. 2. Housekeeping was poor. They did not clean the kitchen sink for the first 2 days and I bought 409 and Lysol wipes to clean the shower/ tub, because it wasn't cleaned well AT ALL, and the toilet was nasty. One day my trash can was emptied and wasn't replaced with a trash bag and my towels weren't replenished. I had to walk all the way to the front desk, because there was no one available to bring me towels. 3. My room phone was inoperable the WHOLE week after several calls to the front desk (spoke w/ Kaitlyn who thought I was inconveniencing her every time I called for assistance). 4. Oh did I say Kaitlyn--she does not need to be in customer service. She was extremely curt. Robert on the other hand, was the front desk person who was attentive. Get out of there as fast a s you can Robert. You deserve better.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoriBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My mom and I recently traveled to Southfield to visit family and stayed at the Hawthorn Suites for two nights. During that time, our room was not cleaned even once. I contacted the evening desk clerk and was told to ask for the manager the next day. I approached the desk clerk the next morning (her name was "Caitlin") and asked for a manger. Caitlin was extremely rude and condesending..not only to myself, but to another couple who approached her asking for a survey that they could fill out. I later discovered that they wanted the survey so that they could complain about Caitlin's rudeness. Her attitude was extremely nasty.

I will never stay here again and the managers at Hawthorn (whoever they are) would be wise to do away with rude and inconsiderate staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Southfield
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
2.3 mi away
Marvin's Garden Inn
Marvin's Garden Inn
#13 of 20 in Southfield
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#3 of 20 in Southfield
294 reviews
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringWood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringWood Suites

Address: 26700 Central Park Blvd, Southfield, MI 48076-4134 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: $62 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringWood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel located in Southfield's city center, offering free high speed Internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, M-Th evening manager's reception. Easy access to many restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SpringWood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Hawthorn Suites Southfield
Southfield Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing