We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended Stay Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Springwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springwood Suites
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extended Stay Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I am starting up my business in the Detroit Metro area and needed a place to stay for weeks at a time that was affordable so Hawthorn Suites was a viable option. This place is not the Ritz or even the Hilton but it sure fit the needs I was looking for. Yes there were a few issues that had to be taken care of. My key didn;t work,and room forgot to be cleaned one day (Maid was sick that day). But as soon as I alerted the front desk they were more than happy to do any thing they could to accomodate my concerns. The manager, Curtis and all the girls at the front desk always greeted me and made sure my stay was as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The furniture is a bit outdated and rooms could use a little TLC but it is an ideal affordable place for extended stay. A nice hot breakfast with bacon, eggs , waffles, pancakes, bagels, oatmeal , cereals and juices are available every morning. Free internet and printing and faxing free in the lobby was a great time and money saver for me. The location was great for me 1 minute from 696, 2 minutes to route 10, 5 minutes to 75 made traveling around ideal. So if your looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel this is not your place. But if your looking for affordable stay with a friendly accomodating staff with plenty of ammenities this is a great place to stay and option for you to consider

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms towards the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKarll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to offer feedback on your stay. I am happy we exceeded your expectations. One of the most rewarding aspects of my job is hearing great feedback from valued guests like you. Thank you again, and we look forward to being of service to you for all of your future stays in the area. Regards ,Ajay Dutt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    84
    111
    140
    419
See reviews for
274
160
92
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here for a little over five weeks starting in September and have visited other guests at the hotel for a number of years now. I been in around five different rooms at the hotel and most of those rooms had toilets that didn't work correctly or at all. The free wi-fi internet access doesn't work good unless your outside around or in the lobby and the further away the building from the lobby the internet isn't going to work at all I mean the internet crashed there. The guests seem to act strange all of the time doing things like hanging outside other guests rooms smoking and drinking hanging out in large groups making noise and so on just a lack of respect for others. The staff is out to get you and your money I mean no help I paid for an entire month at the $45 rate with no weekly rates or savings I wasn't even enrolled in the hotels rewards program. I was told to call technical support to get the wi-fi internet working in my room and they said the lobby wasn't working with them to fix it and wouldn't call back and it never was fix after three weeks of talking to them all. I checked out and didn't receive my cash deposit back they said I owed $3 for technical support calling my room and I was like whatever and came back a few days later to get my money. There's no white glove inspection and the housekeeping is only annoying maybe changing towels and making the bed with dirty shirts I couldn't pay them to clean the rooms don't tip them unless you give to the homeless. I don't like.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Southfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hawthorne suites is a terrible place to stay. It filty and the place is coming apart. No one seen to care. I never stayed in a hotel where I didn't like or had a problem. Insurance made reservations and no did a walk though to make sure it was not in terrible conditions. Due to the circumstances and being too exhausted to keep moving from place to place, we stayed here. My son and i clean some of the place ourselves. Our first night was hell, police showed up because of people fighting and shooting. Every weekend there are fights and arguments here outside of our room. I missed my home very bad. I don't want to spend my Christmas here. I want to move to a better hotel that can accommodate my family. My townhomes was new and remodel. Hawthorne suite have to many problems, I just wanted to share that with you because my family are the ones that inconvenience and homeless because of someone negligence.

1. Place was filty.
2. No lights.
3. Toilets was broken.
4. Blankets and pillows dirty.
5. Mattresses was dirty and sunken in. Manager ( Valerie) refused to fix or change them.
6. Walls and doors were dirty, stains are everywhere, and had holds in it.
7. Closets were broken and hard to open and closed.
8. Kitchen was dirty and damage.
9. Stove was not clean and damaged, cannot used the oven it look like something blew up in there and burned.
10. Counters were damage.(chip paint, burned)
11. No dressers to put our clothes in.
12. No Garbage cans in the place.
13. Outside the window is garbage and condoms.
14. Second floor shower makes loud ringing noises. It Makes you feel like u don't want to take a soothing shower. The blower in the downstairs bathroom is very loud, u can hear upstairs.
15. The Tubs are stained and filty, hard to clean.
16. The couch chairs and carpet looks like it have not been clean in months.
17. Only to 2 chairs for the kitchen in the suite and its 5 of us and they could not give us accommodate us with chairs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djmoss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

These are the worse Hotels in Southfeild Mi, No Sercure parking, No Linens, the furniture looks like something they picked up off the side of the road, No Dishes.. The TV was Broken... Needless to say we cancel our reservations and went to a Better hotel for about the same amount of money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divaared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
10.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dearborn/Detroit MI
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Southfield/Detroit
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwood Suites

Property: Springwood Suites
Address: 26700 Central Park Blvd, Southfield, MI 48076 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield)
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Springwood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel located in Southfield's city center, offering free high speed Internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, M-Th evening manager's reception. Easy access to many restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Hawthorn Suites Southfield
Southfield Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing