We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of SpringWood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringWood Suites
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel should be shut down and I know is violating some code. I payed for a pent house suite which is up and down stairs. NONE Of the phones in the whole room were working. The smoke detectors we all hanging with no batteries in them. The remotes were broken and taped up with tape. The sheets were torn. The king bed which is down stairs had TWO LITTLE pillows on them! The full bed which were told is a queen but is a full had three little decretive size pillows on them. When you sit on the couch it went straight in. Also some of the light bulbs in the room were out. The bath tub up stairs looked like it hasn't been cleaned out in months.. The kitchen floor wasn't swept or moped... And the counter wasn't clean. And the hotel manager Q had the nerve to not want to give my deposit.. Worst stay EVER and I will be reporting this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay..We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Sincerely, Ajay Dutt GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
There are newer reviews for SpringWood Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 803 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank MICHAEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the property after finding a great deal on Priceline.com, I reserved a Two Separate Bedroom Suite (but received a loft said it was the same) and a Studio. I live in the area and had family in town for a wedding, I could not accommodate all the relatives at my home and the property was near and had the most room. Upon check-in, I was given a hotel (eviction) policy form that must be signed indicating that there to be: no more than 6 guest in a Two Bedroom style apartment room after 10:30 pm (4 for a studio), no driving over the posted speed limits, no loud music among several other college dorm type of rules. I did not want to sign the ultra strict policy but the property was unwilling to provide a refund because the rooms were purchased and reserved on Priceline. Also, my relatives were arriving at 7 pm and it was not feasible to secure another location. I checked in on 1/18/13 and proceeded to rooms 522 and 521. When I opened the door of 522 it smelled like rotten food so I checked the garbage disposal and the trash can. Also, it smelled like smoke and other things were not up to par such as badly worn couch cushions, a sock was on the ceiling fan, missing parts of the shower head, fluid spill mark on the counter and just plain old out dated broken furniture. The old crt tv's both had very poor grainy reception. The studio rm 521 was not much better. I could see wood coming from the back of the sofa sleeper, so I decided to move it against the wall on to find a burn spot on the floor of an iron. Only bright spot is that it had a flat screen tv, picture was still an issue. Since I received to good rates (109 and 55),I decided to make to most the of rooms that were located next door to each other on the upper level. I quickly returned to my home which was three minutes away and returned armed with a bottle of Fabreeze(After The Rain), Clorox Spray Cleaner (Lemon Scent), cleaning clothes, and a vacuum. I sprayed Clorox cleaner in the garbage disposals to get rid of the smell,on the counters, and table to clean up the old spills and removed the dust. I also got a high chair to retrive the sock from the ceiling which did not work. I sprayed Fabreeze throughout the rooms and disinfected the bathrooms with the Clorox Spray and vacuumed. The rooms were now clean and habitable. My relatives return to the hotel at about 9pm after a wedding rehersal, a total nine people. Another relative had reserved and checked in to another room on the property all the guest were 30 to 20 years old. It some point after the all the relatives were in rm 522 (after the eviction policy time of 10:30 ) along with about 2 others which is total about 14 individuals in a two bedroom apartment suite. At about 11:15 pm, I was contacted by a relative and informed that they were evicted due to many people in the room and their had been a compliant of loud music. I immediately went to the to the room and may sure the occupants returned to their rooms and the two guest exited. I stayed until about 1 a.m. and checked with the front desk to ensure that things were fine. The front desk informed that management instructed them to evict the occupants and they do not give warnings due to the eviction policy. The room was closed out at 11:30 pm, I spoke with the two undercover security with police styled badges around their neck and was instructed to removed the guest from 522 and it was nothing they could do. I relocated some the guest to 521 and the others returned to my home. Also, I was informed by the front desk staff that my deposit was forfited due to being evicted. The property refused to return my deposited. The moral of the story is if you don't want to be treated like a college doom resident and you want decent accommodates you don't want to book this hotel despite to low cost -YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. I will be forwarding information to district and corporate management to make improvements and revise their policy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you your feedback. Hotel has resonable policies in place to ensure quiet and comfortable stay for every guest. All guests are advised about the policies at the time of check-in. Hotel has an obligation to investigate every compalint that comes from another guest about noise and other activities. It is unfortunate that sometimes we have to ask the guest to leave but it is only done in extreme cases.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank LASHONDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hey...when we checked in, there was a guest at the front desk complaining about his room. He seemed quite angry, before he left, and before I went to sign in, I asked him what the problem was? He said the couch was broken and it was very dirty. He asked for another room. Since we were here for a very sick relative who was being removed from life support the next day, and it was about 1:30 in the morning-we were going straight to the hospital after checking in-we didn't have much choice. I asked the clerck if this was a rare occurance, and she said NO it happens often. The room she gave us was awfull. the fridge had HOT air coming out of it!! It could have been used as a heater! there are no dishes, no iron, no ironing board, there was no spool for the toilet paper, and the couch was broken;when you sat on it it went aii the way to the floor! The bed was made as if the covers were just thrown on, also there were no hangers in the closet. The next day we were moved to another room, it was better, but not much. It's supposed be to an extened stay, but there are no dishes or silverware....but there is a dishwasher. Ain't that a kick in the head? We had to have our room keys revalidated twice. We came here for serious family emergency and had to put up with an even more unpleasant situation with our room. DON'T ever book this place, you would probably do better at a shelter!!!

Room Tip: Don't go by the pictures or the travelsites ratings. Always check trip adviser first, I have le...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnmoffettdavilouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay..We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Sincerely, Ajay Dutt GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed there for six days. My room cleaned one day. I spoke to director of housekeeping and he was a joke. I had three different rooms all were gross. I would not recommend a single woman to stay there at all. It is quite ghetto.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay..We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Sincerely, Ajay Dutt GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank DetroitSouthfield
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajay D, General Manager at SpringWood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Southfield
Red Roof Inn Southfield
#12 of 20 in Southfield
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Southfield
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#5 of 20 in Southfield
239 reviews
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - Northwestern Hwy.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringWood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringWood Suites

Address: 26700 Central Park Blvd, Southfield, MI 48076 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield)
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: $57 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringWood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel located in Southfield's city center, offering free high speed Internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, M-Th evening manager's reception. Easy access to many restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your SpringWood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Hawthorn Suites Southfield
Southfield Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing