We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concerts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
2 reviews
“Concerts”
Reviewed February 12, 2010

This was a nice hotel minus the fact when the clerk asked for my debit card to ensure payment she failed to mention they were charging a $60 deposit for our room for the weekend inturn causing my bank account to overdraw. When we first got there I wouldn't complain about the view, your in Detroit go figure a parking lot. Someone flushed the toilet about a few minutes later heard running water pouring all over the floor the latch completely broke, luckily though they moved us one floor above no charge. All in all the heavenly beds were the best beds I've ever slept in. I would stay again just for the comfort of the beds. Just a little note there is nowhere around to eat but Speedways I would consider mapping out restaurants beforehand.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twinkie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southfieldhotelman2, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at The Westin Southfield. I do apologize that the front desk staff did not fully explain the protocol with debit card usage. With regard to dining options outside of the hotel, we do provide a comprehensive listing of local eateries and our staff can assist with maps and directions. The Westin Heavenly Bed is certainly heavenly and I am glad you received a renewing nights sleep.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    208
    137
    69
    41
See reviews for
127
121
41
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights the staff was great and helpful to all my needs and questions. I did not know the area and they assisted me in reccommending and finding places for various reasons. The rooms are very clean and contemporary, I will say the TVs were smaller than expected for this caliber hotel. Plentiful parking and easy access building very secure guest floors. The beds were insanely comfortable and the linens were very soft with what I can only assume Is a high thread count. There were some odds and ends I feel lost it a star, for the cost no free Internet was not cool,tv channels wrrennot that great, and on the tv all the inputs were disbled so no DVD player, camcorder connectivity, or video game consoles for the kids that is a major drawback for me and that's why I dropped it one star. All in all for business or if only for sleeping I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheapsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We had a great time staying at Westin Southfield. The rooms were clean and modern, with a nice comfy bed like you always get at Westin. The service was good as well, no complaints. The location is a bit far from downtown Detroit, but the the hotel is a couple of minutes away from fwy 10 and 696, so we were able to get around very fast. Yes, it was a bit quiet at the hotel, as some of the reviews mentioned, but that was not an issue for us; actually you get a great deal because it's not busy. So stop whining and go enjoy all that Motown has to offer!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihatetourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Very bad hotel. Limited food menu - no choice for vegetarians.
Bad closet space, bathrooms, inadequate lighting in the room.
Worst part - bad air conditioning. Radiator malfunctions a lot

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MadhurB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Westin's are great -- usually. NOT this one. The staffing has been cut so much that at times it seems like they have closed. When trying to check-in at 9 pm (really not that late according to business travel standards), there was only one staff person at the front desk -- but not for 5 minutes. He was down the hall. Nice but where do you find him? And as he welcomed me back (I stay here frequently but had not been there in a year), he told me about their renovations (ONLY in the lobby) and their new flat screen tv's. But upon entering the room it was clear that the renovations did NOT include anyting else in the room. Room service breakfast reminded me of the very below average Holiday Inn. It was late and even though specifically requesting berry jelly, only grape was brought. While I am sure some readers will think - how spoiled is this reviewer - but when you pay $199 per night plus over $20 for local taxes, and when you consider this is a Westin, you do expect more. And, moreover, when you are in a hotel 4 nights each week, and you do earn significant frequent "sleeper" status at some chains, you do expect more. This Westin did not deliver more. Next month when I return to the area, I will try the Marriott up the road

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerONE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I attended a wedding there and was awed by the beautiful atrium. In addition, the staff was friendly and handled out needs flawlessly. The rooms were large with very comfortable beds and flat screen televisions. They had a gym on the premises and a very good restaurant. It's rare to find this type of luxury at a reasonable price. It's one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dl1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The hotel was wonderful. It appeared that they had recently remodeled. The 12th floor room was clean and beautiful. The staff was courteous and helpful. Considering the nightly rate of $99, this is an exceptional deal. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sports04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 20 in Southfield
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
232 reviews
13.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
320 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
774 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Property: The Westin Southfield Detroit
Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing