We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Westin needs to spruce up!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1,542 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“This Westin needs to spruce up!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We checked in at 1 am and we're lucky enough to nab a junior corner suite on the 4th floor. We found worn furniture, but we still had the comfy Westin bed and a very large room with a rickety low table in the middle of the room and two sitting chairs with one ottoman. The service staff were fine from the reception to house cleaning and concierge.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We do appreciate the gift of feedback from our guests; positive or otherwise, as it gives us the opportunity to work harder to improve and make the experience at our hotel truly exceptional. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered. We’d love to welcome you back in the future for the refreshing stay that you deserve. Thank you for your review. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    207
    135
    68
    40
See reviews for
127
118
41
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I came as a Starwoods guest, and they listed it as a 3 star hotel, which it is. There's a lot of room for improvement, but many things were good. The staff was always friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel has a useful business center with PCs and a printer. The workout room was minimal and the equipment needs replacing, but after all, JUST DO IT. The hotel common areas could use some sprucing up. And the signage locating the hotel from the street was barely visible. But the bed was great, as were the linens. I sent a pre-email requesting a specific type of room and a hair dryer, and the request was honored, but strangely, no one replied to my email. Anyway, I liked it, and would recommend it. Will try to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: The ones on the west side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooBoolasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit. Our Associates strive to provide the utmost in care and exceptional service and we’re grateful that you acknowledged their efforts. We will be sure to mention your comments to our Housekeeping Associates in the hopes of improving our common areas for future guests. It was our pleasure to provide you with just what you need to make your stay enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This crescent shaped property is nestled between the highway and an enormous parking structure. The hotel itself is very nicely appointed. The room was clean, the beds fabulous and the bathroom very large with a great shower. The only complaint was the difficulty in locating the hotel itself. Signage is non-existent and even with GPS we had to drive through multiple parking lots, and navigate our way through multiple office complexes, to find the lobby. That though is our only complaint. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Now that you’ve found us, we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back time and time again. We do apologize that you encountered troubles locating our property, but are thrilled to read that your stay was enjoyable. We strive to provide the most rejuvenating experiences for our guests and we look forward to greeting you again in the future at The Westin Southfield Detroit. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It would be too easy to tamp down expectations because the Westin Southfield is in the Detroit metro area. That would do a disservice to the parts of the area that aren’t dysfunctional and it would let Starwood off the hook for running a needlessly average hotel.

It looks and acts like a Westin upfront, with a big atrium entrance, a friendly reception staff, and an efficient valet. But when you look a little closer, things are unimpressive. The hallways are ill-lit and the carpeting is stained. The phone in the room I stayed in appeared to have been cleaned last in 1995. The desk top in the room looked like it had been used as a work bench. The ice machine down the hall sounded like a plane idling on the tarmac. Housekeeping didn’t stock the bathroom with cheap plastic cups during room servicing. To some, these are nits being picked but I’m not used to experiencing them at a Westin. The hotel needs, at a minimum, a meaningful facelift and a some focus on maintenance.

All is not lost, however. The bed was clean and comfortable, and that’s an important detail. The staff proved universally to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with fresh food and offered made-to-order omelets that were more than serviceable.

I would stay again, but only if circumstances demanded it. A better option may be the Westin at Detroit Metro Airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
It is our goal to provide each and every one of our guests with an exceptional experience – a truly restful night’s sleep, service levels beyond compare and impeccable surroundings. It seems that certain measures need to be addressed in order to meet that goal and we appreciate you reaching out to us to share your concerns. We hope to welcome you back for the outstanding stay that you expect from our brand and we thank you for your gift of feedback. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location, right off the freeway, close to shopping, not far from downtown. Excellent value for money. This hotel is definitely geared towards business travelers but it was great for our weekend family trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afzal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit provided you and your family with a memorable experience. Our convenient location makes it easy to make the most out of your stay, but also affords you a quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Detroit. We look forward to greeting your family again soon and we thank you for your review. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this Westin a couple times now and I'm always blown away by how friendly everyone is! The front desk staff, the valet, bar tenders, house keepers and even the woman who works in the gift shop are always so polite! The rooms are beautiful, very clean, and reasonably priced for a four star hotel. Located in a safe area with tons of restaurants, shops, etc close by.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tmeans55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
It’s always refreshing to hear from our valued guests that their experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit was exceptional. Our Associates strive to provide the most attentive care and ensure that your stay leaves nothing to chance. We will be sure to share your gift of feedback with our Associates as we know it will make their day! Thank you for your kind review and please come and stay with us again soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've stayed at multiple Westins in the past (in Chicago and other cities) and they were much, much nicer than this location so I was quite disappointed.

I stayed here for 4 nights during a business trip and was not impressed at all, especially for the nightly room rate. My standard king room was quite basic and other than the excellent bed, the room was so-so. The first night I couldn't even get hot water in my shower. The room service menu is somewhat limited and very overpriced. $22 for a stir fry with chicken? Come on. Oh, and $10 for 3 pancakes (and nothing else) for breakfast. Again, give me a break.

The most disappointing part of the hotel for me was the workout room. I work out regularly and was looking forward to working out in their gym because the web site pictures make it look great. Well, half of the equipment wasn't working properly. There were 4 treadmills, and only 2 of them were fully functioning. One was stuck at a very high incline so it could not be used for running. The other didn't have an audio/tv option that was working. They had only one elliptical machine, and the tv/audio option was not working properly. It would turn on, but the volume and channel buttons would not work so you couldn't change the channels or volume. The workout room is also very small. Not what I'd expect from a Westin. I've seen much nicer workout rooms at a Holiday Inn Express and similar lower-priced hotels.

Again, for the nightly room rate, this hotel is really not worth the money. It might be a good option for location and safety, but other than that it is not worth it and it could really use some upgrades.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are certainly disappointed to hear that your recent experience at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. What you have described is absolutely not what we want our guests to experience and we sincerely apologize. We will have our Maintenance Associates thoroughly inspect and repair any equipment within our gym and also look into why hot water was a problem in your room. Please don’t hesitate to let us know during any stay that you need our help with something; it’s always our pleasure to assist. Thank you for sharing your perspective and we hope to regain your trust in the future. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Property: The Westin Southfield Detroit
Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing