We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first Westin experience - Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for the Superbowl Weekend with family and friends. Staff was friendly and the service was excellent. Our room was clean and the beds were WOW! I slept perfectly. Starbucks coffee in the rooms. The only problem we did have briefly was we couldn't get the heat to kick up . I just happened to mention it to the engineer on the elevator , he asked my room number , and voila , when we returned to our room that night.... we had heat.... I didn't eat in the restaurant, but the food looked good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit. We’re thrilled that your first time staying with us was so enjoyable and we truly appreciate your gift of feedback. As always, it is a true pleasure for our Associates to create a memorable stay for each of our guests and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 674 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

You dont mind paying a little bit extra for the food when staying in a hotel but there is a limit; waiting an hour for your main isn't what you expect. 2nd, when your main comes and its meant to be asparagus and it's replaced by cold brocoli, you don't expect to be off handerly told that , they 'didnt have any left' without apology; then paying $18.95 for a mediocre breakfast is not what you expect....and then overcharging for a bottle of wine...$48 was well over priced.
So, ok for location but abit average really

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreysOtherHalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

It is the goal of The Westin Southfield Detroit to provide our cherished guests with the very best service and when we fall short of doing that, it is important for us to know. Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your recent stay, and please accept our apologies that your dining experience was not more enjoyable. Your experience will be shared with our Restaurant Ambassadors in the hopes of correcting any future problems. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your review. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location is in a great Detroit suburban area. The rooms are exemplary. Room service is courteous and non-invasive. Love the breakfast buffet! I didn't get to go to the spa but hopefully next time I will have more time to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

At The Westin Southfield Detroit, we truly strive to create an exhilarating experience for each of our guests, with the hopes that they will be inspired to return. It seems we met that goal with you and we are very pleased that you let us know how happy you were with your stay. We invite you to renew and refresh with a visit to our Spa during your next stay, which we hope is very soon. Thank you for your review. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Whenever I travel to Southfield for business, I typically choose this hotel. The accomodations are nice and what I would expect for a Westin but for me the "WOW" factor has been with the staff, specifically AJ. I had a small mix-up with my room and he went above and beyond helping me fix the reservations, toted my bags for me and had a great attitude the entire time. He is an asset the hotel is certainly lucky to have!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyC186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We genuinely feel privileged to have the most outstanding staff working for us and we appreciate your generous acknowledgement of them in your review. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Southfield Detroit very soon. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice in the last 3 months. Positives include valet staff and bar staff. Outside of that the place is a joke.

Our first stay was over Thanksgiving holiday for 3 days/2 nights. Our minivan was 1 of 5 cars broken into Thanksgiving eve night. All of the cars were parked no less than 100 yards from the front door and in a well lit parking lot. Not faulting the hotel for this but a subtle point related to your surroundings. Outside of the bar providing our kids with a couple of kiddy cocktails while my wife and kids waited for a ride the hotel barely acknowledged the situation. John in valet gave us free valet after I explained our situation and given that we did not have a window on our car. I spent the better part of Thanksgiving looking for a gas station with a working vacuum, looking for a window company to fix and then patching a window. Hotel offered zero assistance. John was great on the 3rd day when we were finally able to get a mobile window replacement firm come to the hotel to fix.

The beds are comfortable and rooms are decent size but the walls of the guest rooms are paper thin which leaves you victim to the consideration of your neighboring guests. Even normal volume discussions or a TV can be heard thru the wall. My neighbors last night were inconsiderate and up talking, laughing until 4am. My call to front desk did not help.

The hallways are generally dirty. Stained carpeting, etc. There was broken class on the carpet on the Starwood "Executive" floor when I checked in and was still there when I checked out the next day. Not sure what cleaning staff is or is not looking at. They have a small pool for kids which is good but the workout room is ridiculous for a Westin that shares space with a convention/office complex. It's no bigger than a closet. The equipment is crammed together and is outdated.

At $130 per night you are still not getting what you pay for here. Don't expect Westin standards at this location and recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Your gift of feedback is extremely important to us and we are grateful that you reached out to us to voice your concerns. We truly do understand your disappointment at having your stay detracted from by finding your vehicle harmed. Rest assured, our local law enforcement officials have put many hours into pursuing answers to this uncommon event. It does seem though, that through your many mentions, our Associates worked diligently to assist you in any way they could and we thank you for your kind acknowledgement of them. Please accept our apologies for any noise disturbances that occurred and we would hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional and refreshing stay that you deserve. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Long journey from Europe and greeted by friendly helpful staff who paid my taxi.

Large spacious suit and very quiet just what was needed.

Room service quick and food plentiful.

Doesn't look to be an area with much going on other than the freeway into Detroit.

In summary a large corporate hotel in need of some tlc.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit. It’s delightful to learn that our Associates provided you with thoughtful and gracious care and that you were able to get some much needed rest while here. We truly appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the Westin Southfield and really enjoyed my stay. They accommodated our group very well, they use Starbucks coffee for their complimentary coffee for our convention which was awesome. The rooms were clean, the facilities were very well maintained and I would recommend other organizations to use this facility for their conventions. The food was really excellent too.

Room Tip: We had a king suite with a side room with two queens and a spa bath tub...nice hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makennaean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We are extremely grateful for your kind recommendation and are happy that your recent experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit fully met your expectations. It was our pleasure to ensure that the convention you attended was thoroughly enjoyable, with every attendees needs met. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another exceptional stay and we thank you for your review. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Detroit Southfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
329 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: $126 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing