We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The property is very well designed. The room is spacious and the beds are comfortable. The direct access from the covered parking lot (free) is a plus, when it rains. Very quiet, and the staff is friendly. One is expected to drive to places, if you stay here, for entertainment and restaurants. It gives very efficient access to a group of modern business buildings, so if you have meetings around there it is amazingly efficient. Driving to various outlying areas does not take as long, considering the 70 mph speed limits on the freeway, and its close proximity to major highways. Great stay. Loved their swimming pool (a lap pool) which had the same depth throughout, so it is safe for kids, with spacious jacuzzi. The gym is small-ish, but efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daybright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Thank you for your most gracious review. We do our utmost to provide our guests with a renewing sense of sophistication and the design of The Westin Southfield Detroit helps to achieve that goal. It seems our convenient location and upscale amenities helped to make your stay with us delightful and for that we are pleased. Please come and stay with us again. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 671 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

I have been traveling to Southfield for over four years. Been to several hotels during this time. This week is the first time staying at the Westin after having sleep quality issues at another hotel.. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The ice bucket is small, but empty refrigerators are in each room. The dining options are somewhat limited in the area, and the hotel bar/restaurant is just ok. If the quality of your sleep is critical, you will not be disappointed with the Westin, but that comes at a cost relative to other hotels. Parking is free and adequate after the office workers leave the Town Center. Overall I would consider staying here again if I was in the area for business.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank eliseivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

We’re thrilled that after trying other hotels, you came to have a comfortable, refreshing stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit. Our location can be a respite from the hustle and bustle of downtown Detroit with extraordinary accommodations for business and pleasure travelers alike. We look forward to your return visit when you are in the area again. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed this weekend at Southfield Westin while in town for hockey tournament. Although we booked through Priceline we were welcomed and treated with courtesy at check in. Our request for room with two beds was accommodated. Later, when we discovered that we were next to a room hosting several young girls for a swimming/sleep over birthday party, the hotel graciously allowed us to move rooms. The westin beds are truly heavenly. It is hard to get up in morning. Room was big enough to spread hockey equipment. There are several restaurants nearby, including Kerbys Koney Island which is open all hours, as is Tim Hortons, to accommodate early or late game times. Some common areas of hotel are a little worn, but the location is good, rooms are clean and service was friendly and accommodating. Good pick for hockey trip wrekends. We even ordered room service, and while it was pricy, it was fast and good. Also you can park in attached parking deck for free, which keeps car free of snow or ice in winter

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kzootravelrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

When a guest lets us know that they didn’t want to get out of our Heavenly Beds, it makes us smile! Ensuring our guests are well-rested and rejuvenated is exactly what we strive for, and we’re so happy to have made your stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit an exceptional one. Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I received an excellent deal from Priceline for a one night stay. I'm a native Detroiter, and I have visited this hotel many times over the years. The hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent, bathroom was really spacious. I used the fitness room and the whirlpool on the 3rd floor, both of which met my needs. The only issue arose when I called down to the front desk to see if there was a microwave that I could use (since there wasn't one in the room). I was told there would be a $20 fee for a 24-hr period just to reheat food. Needless to say I ended up eating cold pizza. I would expect more from a hotel of this caliber. All in all a great experience, but I guess the hotel decided my

Room Tip: This hotel is used by alot of organizations as a base for employee orientations as well as weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djmargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

We thank you so much for your candid comments about The Westin Southfield Detroit. Of course, it is nice to see that your time spent here was refreshing and rejuvenating, but we do regret any inconvenience you encountered as a result of no in-room microwaves. Our website is a wealth of information and provides a comprehensive listing of all the sophisticated amenities that are offered in our guest rooms. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We recently stayed for two nights at the Westin Southfield. On the plus side: The hotel is extremely impressive on the outside and also in the lobby. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The parking was good, our choice of inside or outside, no charge to park. the bed was very comfortable. On the minus side: The furniture in our room was extremely dusty. the lounge char was worn and dirty. I found (somebody else's) hair in the shower. We did fill out a card on which we agreed to decline maid service in exchange for a $5.00 voucher to be used for food in the hotel, but I had the impression that (perhaps due to this policy) the room had not been thoroughly cleaned in a long time. One of the reasons I booked this hotel after much online research was the beautiful photos I saw of the atrium. Those photos are posted here on this website which was one of my resources. We were meeting an old friend and I had hoped to take her to this lovely indoor garden atrium area to sit and talk for a while. I saw that there was also a nice looking cafe there. When we went to the atrium we noticed the place was empty. We walked into the cafe to look around and were greeted by extremely surly and unpleasant staff there. As if that were not enough, a security guard came running up to us and told us we were not allowed to take any pictures of the area. I asked why and he said that it was a management rule. We were completely put off by this whole experience. In fairness, this area, although connected to the Westin, may not strictly be a part of the hotel. In summary, the hotel gave us the impresssion that it was very fancy at the time it was built, but seems to be in decline. It was not terrible, just not anywhere near what we expected from a Westin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viajes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thank you for your gift of feedback and for pointing out specific areas in need of improvement. You are correct in your assumption that the Town Center Garden Atrium is not run by the hotel, but if our guests are interested in taking pictures there, we would be happy to make prior arrangements for them. We do apologize for any ill treatment you may have received. Your comments will be sent to our ambassadors for further discussion on what areas might need more of our attention as we hope each and every one of our guests embark from The Westin Southfield Detroit feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. It is our hope to welcome you back to create the sophisticated experience you so deserve. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

From the moment you step inside the hotel the employees treat you like you are the most important guest. The staff and management are awesome, the hotel is very clean. I stayed at the Westin for several months this year, going home on the weekends and I can't say enough good things about the hotel, restaurant and bar. The Food is not your typical hotel food, we never had a bad meal or drink at the hotel. The room was always clean, and the beds are very comfortable. I would stay there again when I am back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

First impressions are lasting and we’re thrilled that The Westin Southfield Detroit was able to create an enjoyable experience for you, especially as a long-term guest. We’re thrilled to see that all your senses were tended to, from our superfoods to our Heavenly® Bed and gave you the rejuvenating experience we hope all our guests have. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just passing through and got a hit for this place from Priiceline. Great value - I'm sure I'm not supposed to tell you how great. Nice place ... everything you'd expect from a Westin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank Doug_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thank you for your gift of feedback. It’s nice to know that all your expectations were met and your stay was delightful. We hope you will choose to stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit if ever your travel plans bring you through Southfield again. Until then, stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
292 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Detroit Southfield Hotel
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,117 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#7 of 20 in Southfield
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Address: 1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075-1141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: $131 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing