We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detroit Marriott Southfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

I am very impressed with this hotel! After several poor stays at other Marriott hotels recently, I was very happy to have had such a nice stay in the hotel!

When I pulled into the hotel, I saw they special reserved parking spaces for Marriott Elites. It was a very nice touch and allowed me to skip searching for a spot. From the parking lot, the hotel looked busy!

Upon check-in, the front desk clerk upgraded me to a Concierge Floor Room and gave me breakfast coupons for both mornings. The breakfast hours are quite generous - Saturday it runs from 7am-12pm and Sunday it runs from 7am-1pm (it is also a brunch-style breakfast on Sunday). When I asked for a late checkout of 1:00p, he told me he'd put in for a 2pm late checkout so I didn't have to rush out. It was a very nice gesture!

When we got to our room, it was clean, smelled fresh, and orderly. The bed had not a single crease in it and the bathroom was well-stocked. The room temperature was comfortable and the TV was huge with tons of channel! There was a complimentary bottle of water in here as well as a refrigerator. I was definitely impressed for the low price I paid for the room (Note: For Marriott Gold/Platinum Elites - There is a great rate under your "pro" code for Elites).

The pool area was busy during the early part of the nights but very quiet during late evening hours and during the afternoon. The children were wild and crazy but it wasn't too distracting. While there were no towels when we went in on a few occasions, the front desk and housekeeping were very prompt in bringing more towels. I do wish the hot tub had been a little hotter but it wasn't cold by any means. The pool hours weren't very enforced which was nice considering we arrived in late on Friday. We were in there a little after 11pm and the staff had no problem that we were using the facility.

Breakfast on Saturday Morning was amazing. There was a great selection of hot and cold items. There was a cook present that would make you omelets which were very delicious! The servers also made a wonderful hot chocolate! Service was excellent as well.

While the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, there is a movie theater 3 or 4 miles down the road, there is a selection of restaurants on Telegraph (1.5-2 miles west of the hotel), and there is much to do in Novi, which is a quick 10 minute drive on I-696. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a full-service hotel for a great price!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    108
    85
    43
    17
See reviews for
48
40
17
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I were impressed by the professionalism and speed of the very courteous staff - each time we encountered them. The only 2 frustrating things (at first) were actually finding the hotel and having the glitch in Marriott's computer system corrected that automatically charged us for an extra nite even though we checked out hours early. Everything else — the pristine cleanliness, contemporary-looking room, ample parking, comfortable bed, quality toiletries was exactly what we expected. We didn't use any other amenities, but at first glance, they seemed clean and in good working order...we definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMills007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott in Southfield.We requested a room at the end of the hallway and they accomodated us.The room was a nice size room.Front Desk and the entire staff did a nice job.

Location was away from things.If you are a business traveler it is a great location, but if you are traveling as a family the location is not near anything, such as resturants or any attractions.


Everything else was nice about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gosox35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stayed here for one night after booking the hotel on priceline. Really comfortable beds, clean room and quiet. Up to Mariott's standards. The front desk was nice and helpful at checkin as well. Would stay here again. Location was right off the highway and except for the restaurant inside the hotel, dining options were limited, so we decided to order in a pizza.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuGautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We arrived at 4 PM after a loooong drive and all we wanted was to rest and maybe check out the pool. We were told the rooms weren't ready yet even though check in time officially starts at 3 and usually its no problem to check in early. Staff were not very courteous about the delay. the rooms are nice and we got a good rate on priceline but I wouldn't come back due to the unprofessional service.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boston333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed here near a wedding, so location was OK, and a lot of businesses in the area, so if you need to be near Southfield, West Bloomfield, etc you should be OK, just watch where you need to be... you'll probably need to rent a car as there is no public transportation around and free parking, so cheaper than cabbing everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oooh-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Had to change rooms due to cleanliness issue, concierge lounge was not up to par

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salesgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Southfield

Property: Detroit Marriott Southfield
Address: 27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Southfield Hotel Southfield
Marriott Southfield
Southfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing