We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Very nice”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything was nice, room, service, people...
The room was very clean, the only thing missing was the fridge. Everything else was very nice. Just pay attention when you book the room see if you have the breakfast included. Ours was not. We found out at the hotel when we arrived. For us it was not problem, but...
However, we enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Likomar,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you with us, and we hope that you will come once again in the near future. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Regards,

Gary Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    111
    87
    43
    18
See reviews for
51
40
17
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I want to give this hotel a great review - they have a dedicated, polite and service oriented staff.

To Marriott corporate, I want to say - WHAT ARE YOU THINKING? This is a bad representation of your brand. This hotel has had no (or tiny) investment. The physical plant are worn out and dated.

Marriott - please spend a few dollars on the rooms here!

Complaints = worn out furniture + no electrical outlet near the bed (unless you unplug the clock) + noisy a/c + etc.

Again, hats off to the management and staff for making due (and making the best effort) for this aging property

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel property inside and out was a very relaxing place, you could sit, talk with friends or just watch people. Day dream about all the nice people that worked at the hotel. I was thinking about how many more cookies I could eat.

Love you,
Colorful and Older Cookie Monster

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and had two separate days of small group meetings. The staff was extremely helpful and wonderful to deal with. Our room was setup well ahead of time, and everything that we asked for was there and ready to go. The restaurant isn't bad - better than the Courtyard but not 4 star. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chcgo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a one night stay at this hotel. Room was clean, bed was so so. Overall I've found this hotel features very competitive rates for the Marriott chain. Could do some little odds and ends like better bedding and upgrade the air conditioning system (it was loud) to improve the overall experience. But these are little nit-picky things. Next time I'm back in the area and need a place to stay for the night I'll keep this hotel in the running.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohlradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My room/suite was huge, wonderful, clean and quite. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Everything was just great. Even though there was a wedding party staying at the hotel, parking wasn't a problem. Would definitely stay there again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the hotel that my company always uses when we have meetings in the area. The rooms are okay, but you can tell they get a lot of use. The staff at this hotel have always been helpful and friendly, and there is a concierge lounge. The rooms are clean, but it is time for an update. It's a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantgetsignedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello,

I read your review and would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing the input. We always look for ways to improve as a facility and take your honesty seriously. Thank you sharing how friendly our staff is as we stive for excellent customer service at all times.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 20 in Southfield
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Southfield

Property: Detroit Marriott Southfield
Address: 27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48033-6235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Southfield Hotel Southfield
Marriott Southfield
Southfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing