We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rice Pudding's a standout!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Souvlaki

Athens Souvlaki
Ranked #32 of 199 Restaurants in Southfield
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
567 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Rice Pudding's a standout!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our Greek side salads with our entrees here the other evening. At 6:30pm the place, accessed from within the little strip mall, was nearly empty. The waitress was fast, friendly and had an easy smile.
My moussaka, rice, and vegetables (peas and beans) smothered in tasty sauce were very good. Pita bread had a slightly off flavor, probably from the grill. My companion enjoyed the gyro sandwich and iced tea. Athens Souvlaki's rice pudding comes out cold, topped with whipped cream and lightly dusted with cinnamon. It was a standout!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Outstanding Greek food. My wife loves gyros, and thinks this is one of the best she's had. Large portions as well, our first time there we were convinced to each get a salad, gyro and fries, which is way more food than we needed. The pita is incredible, and delicious if ordered "dry" as well!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best Greek Food in SE Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you don't know the area, you will have a tough time finding this place. 11 and Lahser NW corner in a half empty mall. Worth searching for. Lunch time crowds are pretty much regulars. I've been dining here for over 30 years and thru several owners. The Greek salad with chicken is the best anywhere. The pita is homemade and cooked on the grill, unique and marvelous. Souvlaki sliced directly off the vertical spit. A fellow diner had moussaka and wanted to marry whoever made it. Seriously wonderful food at a very fair price. This was a regular stop when I lived and worked in the area and currently is 80 or so miles from my residence. If I'm anywhere near now, I stop in. This is simply one of the best eateries in the metro area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cheap yet great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a real gem of a Greek restaurant. Food is very cheap but very good. I entered in the restaurant with my colleagues reluctantly but since then have been there thrice in three weeks. must try

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abhinavaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value, Nothing fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The food was great, and the service good too. You can't beat the value for this very authentic homemade Greek fare.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BooBoolasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Souvlaki also viewed

 

Been to Athens Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing