We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar
Ranked #6 of 203 Restaurants in Southfield
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Edwards and 12 Mile Rd.
Description: World Beat Cuisine with a consistent dose of creativity, an ever-evolving, unique & mouth-watering menu of completely satisfying items that will have you counting the hours before you return. A fantastic selection of daily specials, house-made soups, pastas, seafood, steaks, vegetarian and gluten-free offerings - inspired by exciting ethnic cuisines.Favorites include Five Spice Calamari to Avocado Crab BLTs, and Pecan-crusted Chicken breast as well as a wonderful selection of fresh-baked desserts including Apple Brown Betty...Delicious!Think about Sweet Lorraine 's for brunch, lunch, dinners and special events (from family gatherings to social & business meetings - Sweet Lorraine's will be happy to accommodate your group).
Novi, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food at Sweet Lorraine's is eclectic, fun and delicious! There is always a surprise with a slight twist on what you might expect; but the food is consistently wonderful! And the desserts. . .to sum it up, I will share a story we were told about "regular" customers who come in, order their full meal and dessert--and have the dessert delivered first so as not to miss it! I think that says it all! Our server was Chianne--she has the brightest and most welcoming smile I've ever encountered. She has a great sense of humor and is fabulous at her job. A true asset to Sweet Lorraine's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jckwixom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    69
    30
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When in town, I go here!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Luv, luv, luv this place! When in town for business, Sweet Lorraine's is always at the top of my list. The Pecan Chix and Gorgonzola/Cherry chix are winners. The desserts never fail to impress. Great eclectic atmosphere and a place I always bring business partners I travel with to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rvadventures69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A gem in unexpected place”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not much to do in Southfield, but had a business meeting here. A colleague Googled for good places to eat and that's how we found Sweet Lorraine's. It's an eclectic, global-flair, farm-to-table concept restaurant where the menu is quite varied and extensive: everything from burgers to salads, mac and cheeses, but all with a gourmet twist. We ordered lobster mac and cheese as an appetizer for our party of 4 and it was amazing. We left nothing! Then they served just-made focaccia bread--melt in your mouth flavor. I ordered a special of two chicken tostadas, which were topped with a mountain of lettuce, tomato, salsa and guac. They broke, of course, but I ate it all off the plate. One guy had a burger, which he couldn't finish, another gal ordered this chicken kabob salad where the skewers showed up in tepee fashion. The desserts? Again, familiar pieces but with a twist. We were all so full, so we ordered the margarita key lime mousse pie to share. It vanished. Excellent service, extensive wine list and specialty beers/drinks, very good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Poor service, long waits, high prices”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is good, nice ambience. But it takes forever to get your meal. The food is nice but nothing special and somewhat overpriced. The hype must be based on past performance, they are not high on my list of good local restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great date”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything was very good, this a great place for a date (first or long time couple). It wasn't cheap and the food wasn't amazing but it's a great atmosphere. It feels cool hence the date appeal. It was good enough to go back but expensive enough to not go often. It gets busy, looks like barely any tables around 7 PM Friday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobRoselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing