We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Cooking”
Review of Beans & Cornbread

Beans & Cornbread
Ranked #2 of 201 Restaurants in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Southern Cooking”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you get in before all the tables are taking, you are in luck. Small restaurant. Food is excellent-down home southerrn type served. Service is great. There is no rush even though people are standing and waiting for a seat. Tfhey do no take reservations. First come-first served.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    68
    23
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“Wow. this place has become one of my favorite”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I realy enjoyed the service, the food was tender, season just right. for me. Good chose.southern cooking

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scelonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
1 review
“YUMMY!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Loved the sweet potato muffins. They were delicious all warm with creamy, fresh butter on top! Even my 8 year old loved them. The collard greens are delicious and tender -- just like mom made! They have fabulous fried chicken and the servers are extremely professional and polite. All in all, this is a great dining experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Apricotspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A local favorite!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If calories didn't exist, I would eat here every day. The Harlem Burrito is flavorful and unique - I don't think there's another menu in Detroit that features the tortilla of red beans, rice, greens, and tomatoes. The Mac & Cheese is my local favorite because it's one of the few recipes that doesn't boast a crunchy topping like Slow's or Clarkston Union (both good, but too complex for my liking). Simple comfort food. We choose the grilled chicken over the fried and splurge on the Mac.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank readaboutmytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Soul Food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have eaten at this location twice and both times the food was good. The restaurant was small but it was clean. The staff did a nice job waiting on you. Will eat here again when I get a chance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rawdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beans & Cornbread also viewed

 

Been to Beans & Cornbread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing