We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant, but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant, but very noisy”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed here one night for business in Southfield. The hotel is clean, front-desk staff is pleasant and helpful, and rooms are spacious and well-equipped. However, because room rates are so low, breakfast is provided for free, and there are kitchen amenities (microwave, fridge) in the rooms as well as a pool in the hotel, lots of families stay here, so it's not a good environment for business travelers trying to work in their rooms. The night I was there, kids were running up and down the halls, pounding on each other's doors, shouting and laughing. The next morning at breakfast, everything was pandemonium as a dozen kids or more ran amok. So, even though this hotel was perfectly clean and well-run, if I needed to be in Southfield again on business, I'd probably choose another hotel catering more to the business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    45
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
22
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Great staff...friendly staff who rally care about your staff, from front desk to housekeeping.
Tawana is fantastic at making sure everything is to your liking. Clean rooms, good location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Very nice hotel with all the amenities you could ask for!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threonine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

property was very well maintained, extremely clean. rooms were
very nice,with comfortable beds and all the amenties. The senior rate was a good value. Good safe area, quiet also. Free
breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful..Would stay there again and would definetly suggest to anybody.

  • Liked — good value for the money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

My family stayed at Springhill Suites to attend the funneral of a family member. I contacted the hotel directly and was able to book six rooms immediately, even though the website said that none were available. The front desk Representative (Twanna) was so helpful and even told me about the bereavement rate offered by the hotel. When my family checked in at different times, the rooms were ready and they even baked fresh cookies for all the guest. The rooms are very nice and spacious, and the bed was unbelievable the most comfortable I have experienced. In the morning the complimentary hot breakfast is a nice treat with not only bagels, but eggs, sausage and waffles. I definitely recommend this hotel to all. I can see why it's rated #1 on TripAdvisor.com.

  • Liked — The courtesy of the staff
  • Disliked — No Bar
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Naptowndiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Our family with 3 kids (ages 8, 8, and 13) stayed here for a single night prior to going to the Henry Ford Museum. For $85 it was a very good value and had enough room for all of us. There was some noise from some folks on our floor but with a call the front desk it was taken care of. It was crowded at the hotel but it was a holiday weekend as well.

  • Liked — Perfect size room
  • Disliked — Wireless internet wasn't working
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofFiveMortonIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We booked a suite for a stay in the Detroit Area for a Red Wings weekend trip. A good value, especially with my military discount as an Army Vet. Easy access to the Lodge freeway (10). Great desk help. Check in was a nice experience, very polite. Rooms were nicely decorated, good size, and quiet. The pool/spa area was small and could have been cleaned a little more, but sufficient for a business hotel. Breakfast was awesome. I definitely will try to book again.

  • Liked — Value, Friendly Staff, Location, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nit Picking here, but pool/spa area should have been cleaner.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank godogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield

Property: SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Address: 28555 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034-1824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Springhill Suites Southfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing