We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Friendly people populate the hotel from the time ou check in until the time you check out. Must have a good manager because the entire staff bends over backwards to make sure your stay is great.

Room Tip: First time I was was on a higher floor. Last time I was on ground floor. I prefer ground floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the SpringHill Suites Southfield. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we a very happy to see that your stay was so great. We really try to not only meet the guest's needs but exceed them and it is great to see that you were satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with the staff as a job well done. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Southfield and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 159 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

OK, the good first. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly.
Then, the bad. Despite being friendly the staff is inept at solving problems. This hotel is VERY NOISY with lots of kids running around screaming. Even adults were having loud arguments in the hallways at night. The walls are very thin and you hear everything (I don't need to know what is going on in the room next door). We called the front desk no less than FOUR TIMES asking for help about the noise. They apologized and did NOTHING! We were not offered to move to a different room despite plenty of available rooms at the hotel (we inquired the next day). We were promised an email from the manager which, of course, never arrived. Again, unwilling staff to do anything about complaints.
The king sized bed was OK, but the sleeper sofa was lumpy useless. About as comfortable as sleeping on the floor.
The pool is really and over-sized bathtub. The pool area is not stocked with towels, probably because the pool itself was filled with about 60 children. YES, I counted! Needless to say we were unable to use the pool. Only one treadmill, only one stair climber, only one exercise bike. Again, no towels and the equipment was dirty, so we left without using it.
Save yourself a headache and stay at one of the other hotels in the area!

Room Tip: NOISY with thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisuretravelleralso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us.

Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. After reading your review I do see that this time, this did not happen and for that I apologize. I have addressed your comments about noise and follow through with the staff and moving forward hopefully we have corrected these service and quality short falls. I am the new manager here and started after the date of your stay so I apologize that you were not contacted after such a challenging stay.

We appreciate all feedback to the hotel so that we can communicate your feedback to our staff, as every comment back to us, both positive and negative, will only make us stronger as a team and help us to improve all areas of the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and it is my hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We like SpringHill Suites but this was a terrible experience. This is a very noisy hotel. When the room next to us decided to party and smoke, the front desk was afraid to do anything so we were moved next to the noisy elevator. The noise from various guests continued well after midnight. Beds were very uncomfortable. Beware! Especially if you are staying here to sleep. If this is one of the best in Southfield then try another town.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyFamilyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us.

Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. After reading your review regarding the noise you experienced at the hotel we wanted to respond to ensure you we are working to improve this item at the hotel. We have been working with the staff to be more efficient in responding to guest complaints, and we have hired some additional staff to be more proactive regarding noise rather then reactive. We hope these improvements will improve our guests stay overall and we look forward to receiving feedback from those most important to us, our guests. Thank you very much for your feedback, feedback such as yours only helps us to improve our hotel for the better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I made my reservations but due to husbands admission into the hospital we had to cancel, for no other reason than illness. Company would not allow cancellation but charged for the room anyway.

By phone they told me it was cancelled, but it is being charged to me, anyway. Never Again - such crooks

Room Tip: Be very careful, if you must cancel due to illness you are still charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Good Afternoon Dee,

I am sorry to hear about your recent troubles with us. Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. After reading your review I do see that this time, this did not happen and for that I apologize. I would be more than happy to speak with you regarding this charge and the cancel fee if you would like to contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager. It is my hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had taken a few years off from staying here. But after terrible heating and cooling system at a nearby sister hotel, we returned. At first we were given a room two feet from the breakfast area and un-enclosed ice machine. When moved to a room on the 2nd floor near behind the front desk, we were very content. The did mention that there was the possibility of noise from the laundry but we never heard it. It was a very quiet experience and the thermostat worked as expected.

Room Tip: As far from the breakfast room as possible, generally lower numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the SpringHill Suites Southfield. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are very happy to see that your stay was so great. We really try to not only meet the guest's needs but exceed them and it is great to see that you were satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with the staff as a job well done. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Southfield and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stay in Southfield in the Telegraph Rd / 12 Mile Rd area a few times a year and have used many of the local hotels. This was our first stay at the Springhill Suites, and it's our new favorite in the area. The hotel seems quite new, and it is in very good shape. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a nice complimentary breakfast and has free wireless internet in the guest rooms. Right next door is a Tim Horton's and a Leo's Coney Island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the SpringHill Suites Southfield. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are very happy to see that your stay was so great. We really try to not only meet the guest's needs but exceed them and it is great to see that you were satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with the staff as a job well done. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Southfield and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

the amorous couple next door to me tested the lack of thickness of the walls. also loud patrons at 130 in the AM on a Monday night in the halls.

Room Tip: avoid staying next to any other occupied room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluto4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us.

Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. We as a team are working very hard to get a handle on the noise you had experienced during your stay. It is our hope this has not affected your image of the hotel and will choose to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Detroit Southfield Hotel
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
3.2 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield

Address: 28555 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034-1824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Springhill Suites Southfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing