We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield an Ugly Dirt Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
MikeFromOhio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield an Ugly Dirt Little Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

The entire experience was much less than what I expected from Holiday Inn Express locations. A typical experience is a clean comfortable room with good service.

I contacted the hotel directly but had difficulty making a reservation to the staffs inability to operate the hotels computer system. When I arrived the hotel looked OK from the outside but quickly fell down. The hallway and loby rugs had black paths of ground in dirt. The elevators were filthy with old dirty hand prints. Coming off the elevator I was again greated by carpeting with ground in dirt. My room wasn't any different. The walls were dirty and scuffed up, the furniture was not terribly worn but dirty.

After checking out I felt like I wanted to go take a long shower and throw everything that I had brought with me away.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    13
    13
    18
See reviews for
31
12
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

I had to go to Southfield, MI for work and the Westin was too expensive so I stayed at the Hawthorn, which was a huge mistake. I was there for 3 nights and it was so bad that I switched to the Westin after 2 nights and paid the difference myself!

Where do I start? When I checked in the front desk agent seemed to be flirting with me and he was staring at me in a strange way. This completely creeped me out and made me fear for my safety since I was traveling alone. When I got to my room, at first I thought it was going to be ok because it is a big 2-room suite, but then I realized it was dirty. The coffee maker had stale coffee in it, and there were pretzels on the floor. Someone had left food in the mini fridge and it smelled bad. The padlock on my door was broken and hanging on its hinges. I called the front desk and changed rooms so I could at least lock my door properly!

I switched rooms and the next room was at least clean. At around 1:00am, I woke up and it was very hot, and I noticed warm air was pouring out of the vents (I had the A/C on). I called the front desk and the person told me to turn down the temp and just wait, and then he hung up on me. I was so fed up at this point that I just dealt with it. I had problems with the A/C the second night as well.

For the third night, I decided to stay at the Westin which is right around the corner. It was like heaven compared to the Hawthorn. I would never stay in this Hawthorn again and would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — It was close to my business meeting
  • Disliked — Dirty room, rude front desk agent, felt unsafe with broken lock, A/C not working
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Westin--it's worth the extra money!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Portland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2006

My family and I stayed in this motel for my sister's wedding last year, and we were delighted by the hotel's cleanliness, comfort, and above all, the extensive breakfast bar.
The bar was loaded with delicious hot foods such as waffles, pancakes, grits and oatmeal, as well as an assortment of various juices, tea, and coffee.
The staff was professional, friendly, and eager to help. The only problem I had with the room was that the lighting wasn't bright enough in the bedroom-other than that, it can't get any better than this! Keep up the great work! :)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadira880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2006

I stumbled upon the Hawthorn Suites, Southfield by chance. After being booked at another local hotel in the area, and while out shopping I walked into the Hawthorn Suites to ask for directions. The staff were more than accomodating, while there i asked to view one of their suites, and found it to be more than accomodating, and spacious. The hotel itself was very well kept and clean. The breakfast was surprising! While most hotels offer a continental breakfast, Hawthorn Suites offers a full service breakfast buffet. I think I've found a home!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2005

$110 rate gets you:

A hotel where you have to use a telephone to order movies (with the special credit-card machine attached?)

No thanks - I'll take the Westin next door ($170/night) anyday!

(This review is honest, and to ensure parity of the Southfield, MI rankings; this hotel is currently ranked ABOVE the Westin at the time of authoring)

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
1.9 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Address: 25100 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southfield Hotel near downtown Detroit destinations. Conveniently located near I-696 and Highway 10, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Southfield keeps travelers connected to the popular attractions and major businesses of downtown Detroit. From the Detroit Art Institute to the Henry Ford Museum, Detroit's legacy appears in many historical attractions. While staying at our Greater Detroit hotel, outdoor lovers can enjoy skiing at one of several local ski resorts during the snowy winters, or they can enjoy water activities at one of the many local lakes during the summer. The growing Southfield community hosts a diverse range of concerts, movies and dining options, such as Arturo's Jazz Theater and Restaurant. This growing community makes for a booming economy, since Southfield is now the premier business district of Detroit. You'll find more than 9,000 businesses and 80 Fortune 500 companies within minutes of this hotel in Southfield. We meet business travelers' needs by offering four meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. Why settle for disappointing, cheap hotels in Detroit when you can stay in this Southfield hotel offering free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a new fitness center? Other hotel amenities include a heated, indoor pool, whirlpool and a hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Call Southfield's Holiday Inn Express hotel now for great room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield Hotel Southfield
Holiday Inn Southfield
Southfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing