We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“not properly stocked bathroom/uncomfortable beds and pillows.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn South Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Haven
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not properly stocked bathroom/uncomfortable beds and pillows.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

bathroom not stocked properly/uncomfortable beds and pillows. Closet door wouldn't close. When I called to get soap and shampoo for bathroom, it was never delivered. I had to go down to the desk and get it myself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    99
    50
    21
    12
See reviews for
101
118
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We rented a King sized bed room that included complimentary breakfast and full bath (no hot tub since those rooms add $90/day to the price). While the staff was not unfriendly, they didn't provide any information unless directly asked. We had many gnats or fruit flys in our room and when we reported, a different room was suggested. Since we were tired and had already unpacked and also saw flys in the lobby, I didn't have confidence the new room would be any better. Complimentary breakfast was nice but had ordinary selections. We'll try a B&B next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Typical older Hampton, Just over priced for what you get. Seems to be the SOP for hotels in this area, high prices that are not necessary. Next trip I will stay much further away, just because I do not like being taken advantage of just because of greedy owners. Rooms did not have Microwave or fridge, desk person had to bring to room and set up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just like being at home only someone else is doing the work. Excellent service at the Hampton Inn. Room, lobby, breakfast and staff exceptional. Will be staying at this Hampton Inn again. The town attractions are also worth visiting. Many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 829herbertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here one night during the Blueberry Festival. We arrived at the hotel very late - approximately 11PM and were told the hotel along with all others in a 100 mile radius were booked solid. Our room was fine, but did smell of a past smoker. Knowing there were no other rooms we retired for the evening. When we woke in the morning we discovered most of the electricity in our room was out. Some things worked others did not. The phone in the room was out. My husband went downstairs to find out they had a generator problem. You would think a note under everyone's door would have been in order - especially for those with special needs. We quickly showered and got ourselves to check out. When I mentioned to the clerk about any kind of compensation I was introduced to the manager. The manager - Saima Farrukh - barely apologized and said because I booked through Expedia there was nothing I could do. When I informed her of the past smoker in our room her response to me was why did I not ask for another room. THE HOTEL WAS COMPLETELY FULL!! It's their busiest weekend of the year. I know that. Again I was told I should have booked directly with the hotel. I had to explain the only way I was able to book a room was through Expedia because the hotel showed sold out. It because a battle of who was right and who was wrong with the manager intent on pointing out I should have booked directly with the hotel. I have never had this type of experience with Hampton Inn in the past and have to attribute our negative impression only to the management. Everyone else was trying to do their best. Also note - beds are full size not queen!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were greeted at the fron desk by the general manager who was extremely nice. After checking in, we were informed tht we had received an upgrade. As we walked through the lobby, we noticed how beautiful it was. The room was very clean and smelled wonerful. The bed was very comfortabe. We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southhaven1555, Manager at Hampton Inn South Haven, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Once again I like to thank you for choosing Hampton inn for your stay.

Reena Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were driving home from Mackinac Island and looking for a good place to spend the night when we drove into South Haven. The Hampton was pricey, but there was a huge festival going on so it made sense. Hotel is beautiful, clean, quiet, comfortable and provides a large breakfast menu. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We were given suggestions for dinner and chose a new restaurant, "Taste", which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank time2travel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southhaven1555, Manager at Hampton Inn South Haven, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Once again I like to thank you for choosing Hampton inn for your stay.

Reena Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.7 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Haven

Property: Hampton Inn South Haven
Address: 04299 Cecilia Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-7107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing