We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, average room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Haven
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed one night for the 4th of July fireworks at the beach in South Haven (which were amazing). The room was very tight and small, but we didn't mind too much as it was for 1 night only. Room was clean and the bedding was updated (no creepy old bedspreads).A few tiles in the bathroom were cracking and it was in desperate need of some fresh grout. Our view was the fast food place next door and the location is less than ideal and a good 3-5 minute drive to downtown South Haven.

The exercise room was small and not air conditioned and although there was a fan blowing, in 90 degree heat it didn't do much to cool me or the room. The pool area was also steamy, which would be great in winter, but not so much in July.
My only other complaint would be that the breakfast offerings were very unhealthy and there was not a whole grain in sight. Biscuits and gravy (ew), what I think was french toast, ultra sugary muffins, plain white bagels and sugary cereals. There was literally nothing for my family to eat except for bananas. This is pretty standard in Hampton Inns, but I'm writing it here hoping the management will see and add some whole grain cereal or bread and a milk alternative (like almond milk) for those who are vegan and simply don't want to eat junk.

When we arrived, our room smelled of smoke (it is a smoke-free hotel) but they quickly provided us with a new room and had a refrigerator brought up for us at our request. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Overall a pretty mediocre experience and not worth the $178 we paid due to it being a holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torchlightlms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 379 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've had good experiences at Hampton Inns in the past, and this was no different. This hotel is a couple miles from the beach, but there is ample parking, it's quiet, and you get a pretty decent breakfast every morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfy. This is as good as it gets for an economy hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIchick_Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The folks at this Hampton are extremely helpful and friendly. However, unless you just need or want to be close to South Haven, the hotel is very isolated. There's not many options as far as dining, unless you drive a bit. The rooms were not so clean--the bedspread had a stain on it and the carpet was dated. Again, very friendly workers, but you are paying for more than a smile.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovelaughtravellive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Before I start I would like to just state that although I have given the hotel 5 stars it is actually a 3 star hotel and you should not expect the sort of luxury's associated with 4 or 5 star hotels. But what this hotel does offer is top notch 3 star accommodation for the price! Rooms are a good size, clean, modern and there is a swimming pool and gym which is available for guests use (for free). A decent (but not spectacular) breakfast, WIFI and parking are also all included free of charge. Staff were helpful and the hotel is only 1 mile from the lake/downtown which is walk-able (if you don't possess the American love for driving everywhere). We walked back after having a few drinks in town and it took about 20 minutes. Overall it is good value for money in a popular lake resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

hampton inn, south haven is a usual budget hotel..clean and comfy..but the website misled us by saying that its beach front..its at least 2 miles from the beach!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monikavyas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Spent 2 nights recently, in a requested ADA room. The staff went over and above to be helpful. Kimberly checked on the room proir to our arrival in order to help us plan, and on arrival Danyale was incredibly helpful in assisting us to the room. Overall we were very impressed with this particular Hampton Inn, especially these two friendly and cheerful staff members and how they went out of their way to be helpful. The room itself was very clean, comfortable, roomy and the bed was an unexpected surprise: very comfortable! Very pleasant stay, good selection at breakfast, and nicely appointed furnishings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I can't think of any negative comments about this hotel. Everything was either as you would expect it to be or better. The lobby is comfortable and looks recently updated, the breakfast area is well-organized and has a good selection of healthy and comfort foods, and the staff is friendly.

I stayed here for one night because I had to extend a business trip an additional night and the Holiday Inn was booked. Honestly, I wish I had been here the whole time. The rooms at the Hampton felt more comfortable and spacious and I particularly liked the handful of lamps that were in the room along with the sofa and coffee table.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RMIgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
198 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
219 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Haven

Address: 04299 Cecilia Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-7107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: $117 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing