We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Haven
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Spent 2 nights recently, in a requested ADA room. The staff went over and above to be helpful. Kimberly checked on the room proir to our arrival in order to help us plan, and on arrival Danyale was incredibly helpful in assisting us to the room. Overall we were very impressed with this particular Hampton Inn, especially these two friendly and cheerful staff members and how they went out of their way to be helpful. The room itself was very clean, comfortable, roomy and the bed was an unexpected surprise: very comfortable! Very pleasant stay, good selection at breakfast, and nicely appointed furnishings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    108
    55
    23
    16
See reviews for
118
128
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I can't think of any negative comments about this hotel. Everything was either as you would expect it to be or better. The lobby is comfortable and looks recently updated, the breakfast area is well-organized and has a good selection of healthy and comfort foods, and the staff is friendly.

I stayed here for one night because I had to extend a business trip an additional night and the Holiday Inn was booked. Honestly, I wish I had been here the whole time. The rooms at the Hampton felt more comfortable and spacious and I particularly liked the handful of lamps that were in the room along with the sofa and coffee table.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMIgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Spent 5 nights here. Everything was great. Fully stocked "fresh" breakfest everyday. Super comfortable beds along with a very clean room ! Everyone made me feel at home. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhinsUp_in_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southhaven1555, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn South Haven, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Hampton Inn southhaven , we value you business and looking
forward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here with wife 1 night on weekend trip. We were very impressed. Location was good, very quick drive into S. Haven. You can take a cab for like $5 - $10, though it might be a little tricky getting cab back later at night due to availability. Hotel was renovated recently so the rooms all feel pretty modern and clean. Good service at counter and breakfast (free). They have 2 - 3 people manning the breakfast station in the morning to deal with # of people who visit here.

Room Tip: they're probably all about the same. hotel is decently far off the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, IN
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was your "usual" Hampton Inn experience, but that doesn't mean it was so-so. Everything was very good. Room was clean and comfortable - adequate towels, comfortable bed, all the lights worked,etc. Free wireless internet. Nice size swimming pool and hot tub. Breakfast was abundant - yogurt, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, bagels/breads/danish, eggs, sausage or potatoes, coffee, milk, juice, etc. Free coffee available all the time in the lobby.

This hotel is located just off I-196, across from a WalMart. It is not within walking distance of downtown or the beach & lighthouse, but these are only about 1 mile away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hampton Inn as always fits the bill. When we were filled to the gills this Christmas, it was a relief to know that I could trust this hotel with family members. They were treated to great service we expect. A warm fire in the fireplace, cookies, and welcome home greetings at the front desk. The room with a typical room with clean sheets, plenty of towels, and coffee and free breakfast in the morning to start their day.

Room Tip: The hotel is located by Walmart and the expressway, not the beach, so make sure you have a rental to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrennersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stay here routinely when in town for work. Always pleased, excellent clean comfortable rooms, fantastic breakfast, great pool area, exceptional staff. I am here two or three times a month and they greet me by name wheni walk through the door, makes me feel like I'm home when I'm away from home.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniorJuniorBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
191 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
204 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Haven

Property: Hampton Inn South Haven
Address: 04299 Cecilia Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-7107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing