We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice for a hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Haven
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here with wife 1 night on weekend trip. We were very impressed. Location was good, very quick drive into S. Haven. You can take a cab for like $5 - $10, though it might be a little tricky getting cab back later at night due to availability. Hotel was renovated recently so the rooms all feel pretty modern and clean. Good service at counter and breakfast (free). They have 2 - 3 people manning the breakfast station in the morning to deal with # of people who visit here.

Room Tip: they're probably all about the same. hotel is decently far off the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 379 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was your "usual" Hampton Inn experience, but that doesn't mean it was so-so. Everything was very good. Room was clean and comfortable - adequate towels, comfortable bed, all the lights worked,etc. Free wireless internet. Nice size swimming pool and hot tub. Breakfast was abundant - yogurt, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, bagels/breads/danish, eggs, sausage or potatoes, coffee, milk, juice, etc. Free coffee available all the time in the lobby.

This hotel is located just off I-196, across from a WalMart. It is not within walking distance of downtown or the beach & lighthouse, but these are only about 1 mile away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hampton Inn as always fits the bill. When we were filled to the gills this Christmas, it was a relief to know that I could trust this hotel with family members. They were treated to great service we expect. A warm fire in the fireplace, cookies, and welcome home greetings at the front desk. The room with a typical room with clean sheets, plenty of towels, and coffee and free breakfast in the morning to start their day.

Room Tip: The hotel is located by Walmart and the expressway, not the beach, so make sure you have a rental to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrennersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stay here routinely when in town for work. Always pleased, excellent clean comfortable rooms, fantastic breakfast, great pool area, exceptional staff. I am here two or three times a month and they greet me by name wheni walk through the door, makes me feel like I'm home when I'm away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuniorJuniorBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the South Haven Michigan Hampton Inn. The whole place is clean, bed was comfortable, and the free breakfast was a notch above many other hotels in this price category. But just a notch above, not spectacular. One night we found cookies at the front desk, and they were great. We would have liked to stay on the lake, but the local spots did not look appealing online and seeing them in person made me glad we opted to stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

If you need a hotel in South Haven, this Hampton Inn is where you want to stay. We've tried a number of them, and this is the best. In town are some more local places, but for cleanliness, predictability, value for the price, this is it. It is much better than the other chain hotels close by.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stlanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel had very nice rooms and provided a great breakfast in the morning! This is why I am rating it a 4. I would have given them a 5 if they wouldn't have canceled my reservation a month after making it for a king size bed as part of a large block of rooms with the same last name as my reservation. The hotel was very full, and they weren't sure they would be able to get us in for our two nights. Luckily, we got a place to sleep and got the rate for the block of rooms. The cancellation had no notes explaining why the reservation was cancelled and I never recieved a phone call with any inquiries approx a month prior to my arrival. There was no deposit required and payment was expected upon departure. After a week traveling across the country with no boarding issues, this was quite disappointing. We really wanted the king sized bed we reserved, and felt that the desk clerk could have been more understanding concerning the issue.

Room Tip: Probably want to double, triple check your reservations to make sure they aren't canceled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enessgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
198 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
219 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Haven

Address: 04299 Cecilia Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-7107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: $117 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing