We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and convenient, especially if you like ice cream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reasonable and convenient, especially if you like ice cream”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Baymont Inn is located just off of I196. Our room was spacious, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. This venue is very popular with families, probably because of the rates and the breakfast (which is ample). It's located just outside of town; it's less than a five minute drive to the center. Sherman's Ice Cream is not even a five minute walk--right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank anniea1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your opinion with us, we greatly appreciate your input and are happy to know that you were pleased with your stay.
We look forward to see you again should you venture back into the South haven area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    156
    156
    80
    50
See reviews for
234
210
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were in South Haven, a delightful Lake Michigan seaside town, for four days on business, having been there one year ago, also on business, at which time we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. This time we were in South Haven during peek tourist season, just before the annual Blueberry Festival, and rooms were at a premium. Whereas the Holiday Inn Express and its helpful staff made our stay last year pleasant, our stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites was a disaster.

Perhaps with time the facility, which was an independent hotel until recently becoming a Baymont hotel, will improve.

On arriving at the hotel we found the front parking area blocked off for blacktopping. At the registration desk the clerk originally denied me a room, one of four reserved by my employer, because he had not yet arrived to provide a credit card for payment. Only after insisting that I was not to be denied a room and giving the clerk my own personal credit card as a deposit, was I registered. Upon entering the room, I found the towel rack over the vanity broken, the door security bar fell off the door, the pamphlet rack holding brochures on the desk broken, and no open electric outlets available for my laptop charger. I soon discovered also that the wake-up feature on the clock-radio was not working. I brought these deficiencies to the attention of the front desk, but at no time during our five-day stay was any attempt made to rectify these deficiencies. I took the defective clock-radio down to the desk and received a replacement, but this radio was even worse, with the clock not functioning at all. I also asked for a three-way electric outlet plug and was given a one-way plug, which necessitated my unplugging the coffee-maker in order to charge my laptop.

The room was small and dingy, with average beds and pillows. Towels, on the other hand, were fluffy and generous. Housekeeping service each day of our visit was very good.

Breakfast selection was mediocre.

The most disappointing part of the stay was not the run-down nature of the hotel but the apparent indifference or inability of the hotel staff to problems presented them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the troubles you experienced during your stay. I agree that the black-top resurfacing was not well timed, however we did ensure enough parking around the building for all of our guests. I understand your frustration at check-in but due to requirements by management we do require credit card authorization by whomever the charge will be applied prior to entrance to a room. I am sorry for the state of your room and we are currently doing upgrades and renovations over the winter months. I will speak with the front desk staff regarding their service, though the plug they gave was correct. The only type of plug they are allowed to give out is to convert a two prong to a three. Due to fire code we are not allowed to supply or encourage the use of power strips of any kind.

I again, apologize for your stay and hope that you give us a second chance should you be in the South Haven area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Haven hotels

Livonia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Room was clean but dated, needs updates. Bachelorette party still roaming halls at 2:00am. Doors slamming all night. Needs more parking Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Baymont_S_Haven, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your room was clean as we always strive for a clean and comfortable stay for our guests. We are currently renovating our facilities to make them more updated and there will be quite a few changes over the next year. I apologize for the party, I will meet with the staff you determine a better way to handle late night rowdy guest. We are working on our parking lot and I am glad that our staff was pleasant during your stay. We do hope to see your again the next time you are in South Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
191 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
206 reviews
24.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Address: 1555 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7908 (Formerly Ramada Lighthouse Inn and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baymont Inn & Suites is a 100% non-smoking hotel conveniently located just off of I-196 on Exit 20. We offer Deluxe Complimentary Breakfast Bar, Indoor Heated Pool and Hot Tub with adjacent Sundeck, Fitness Room, Free Wireless High Speed Internet, Business Center, Full Service Conference Center with Catering provided by Brann’s Catering, Meeting Room with a capacity of up to 50 people. All guest rooms offer Microwave, Mini-fridge, Hair dryer, 32” LED TV and Coffee maker. We are 1 mile from downtown South Haven's shopping district and 1.5 miles from the beaches.Our Conference Center is perfect for Wedding receptions, Family/Class reunions, Birthday Parties, Business meetings or any other large events of up to 300 people.Our Award winning staff will help fulfill any of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Lighthouse Hotel South Haven
Ramada South Haven
South Haven Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing