We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good family Italian”
Review of Maria's

Maria's
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Wausau
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good family Italian”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Crowded even in winter but worth the wait. Very reasonable, very good Italian food, and now serving their own wine. A few sidewalk tables in warm weather. I like the spaghetti and meatballs!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monty002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    116
    51
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'm in the navy and have eaten at a lot of places, especially Italian. For me, this place hit the spot in so many ways. I loved the atmosphere, cozy and warm, The staff were professional and quite attentive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Italianlover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Food - Terrific Staff”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This small restaurant in downtown South Haven has wonderful Italian food. Good pizza and I love the lasagna. We enjoy coming here as a couple or bringing our family. Good atmosphere, good food, and even their own wine.

My most recent experience was with a group of 18 children and parents. We were Christmas Caroling downtown and made plans to start here with pizza. They have a nice size upper room and we took it over. They had 8 pizzas and pitchers of soft drinks for us when we arrived. They were so accommodating to our group, you would have thought we were big spenders. The children felt very special eating out like this and had a great experience.

Can speak highly enough of this quality place - simple lunch, romantic dinner, or with a large group of children.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, terrible food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is warm, cozy and our server was excellent. However, the pasta was really ... Not good. I wanted so much to like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cami Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good sized portions.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The portions are very generous. We thought the food was good but not great. Seems like a nice family place. Our server was a little perplexed when I asked which dish he would recommend based on the two I was considering.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hyena531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Maria's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing